Maynard Ferguson High Voltage 2

High Voltage 2
1 rating
Price: $17.40
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  Vinyl LP
sku:  KV48
on most orders of $50+
New Condition

Related products:

Vinyl LP Details

  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Intima Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Omaha Written - By - Matt Wallace, Tony Gulizia [5:47]
  • 2.Whatcha Thinkin' Written - By - Jim Exon, Todd Carlon [4:14]
  • 3.Star Eyes Arranged By - Dave Tull Written - By - Don Raye, Gene De Paul [6:03]
  • 4.Till Then Written - By - Billy Hulting [5:39]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Zihuatanejo Written - By - Billy Hulting, Maynard Ferguson [5:38]
  • 2.Nightgown Written - By - John Toomey, Maynard Ferguson [3:42]
  • 3.Get Off The Bus Written - By - John Toomey [5:52]
  • 4.King Kan Written - By - Tom Bevan [5:28]

Product Description:

Those of you accustomed to hearing this trumpet legend playing those famous high notes with his powerful Big Bond will get plenty of "vintage" Maynard in this small group setting The soaring high notes as only Maynard can play them are evident on "Star Eyes" and the row energy and excitement of Zihautanejo (zay-what-in-a-o) will satisfy the Maynard fanatics. But you also gel much more of the other sides of Maynard in this less regimented setting including much more flugel horn From the beautifully romantic ballad "Till Then" to the bluesy "King Kan", to the more commercial melody" of "Whatcha Thinkin" and "Omaha", Maynard showcases his unique style and sound on this instrumental Check out the straight ahead jazz playing on "Nightgown" Not only Maynard, who ripped off his own ho harmon mute solo on the first take, but the whole band. This album is not just an assemblage of studio musicians, but a true group effort. It was created and refined on the rood during the High Voltage tours of the states in late 1987 and early 1988 We would like to thank not only the band, who in spite of long hours of travel and lack of sleep managed to make incredible music, but everyone involved in all areas for their part in making those tours a success There is a part of each and every one of you in this album. Maynard Ferguson: Trumpet, Flugel Horn John Toomey: Keyboords Dave Tull: Drums Michael Lufkin: Bass Tom "Boomer" Bevan: Guitar Billy Hulting: Percussion, Vibes, Marimba & KAT Midi Mallet Insturument Matt Wallace: Saxophones This album was digitally recorded on the Sony 3324 digital machine and mixed to the Sony 3402 digital machine from July Through September of 1988 at sound Design Studios, Santa Barbara, California. Maynard plays M.F.Horns, designed by Maynard and exclusively manufactured and distributed by G. LeBlanc/Holton Corporation
Get Email Alerts for Maynard Ferguson

Product Info

  • UPC: 018777336017
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)