Songs: Ohia Impala

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $13.48
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  SELY 17
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: January 28, 2001
  • Label: Secretly Canadian


  • 1.Ace Unable to Change - Impala
  • 2.Easts Heart Divided - Impala
  • 3.This Time Anything Finite at All - Impala
  • 4.Hearts Newly Arrived - Impala
  • 5.Till Morning Reputations - Impala
  • 6.One of Those Uncertain Hands - Impala
  • 7.Humble Cause Again - Impala
  • 8.Rules of Abscence - Impala
  • 9.Just What Can Last - Impala
  • 10.Program: The Mask - Songs: Ohia
  • 11.Structuring: Necessity - Songs: Ohia
  • 12.Separations: Reminder - Songs: Ohia
  • 13.Program and Disjunction - Songs: Ohia

Product Description:

Songs: Ohia includes: Jason Molina (vocals, guitar).
For those unfamiliar with Songs: Ohia, the refrain of the opening track sets the tone nicely; "Tonight I am damned to my soul." Jason Molina (a.k.a. Songs: Ohia) has been frequently compared to Will Oldham (a.k.a. Palace) and there is a similarity in their vocal timbre; a thin, plaintive wail, often barely audible above the spare instrumentation. Much like his two previous discs, IMPALA is often just Jason and his guitar.
However, this time around some songs are augmented by a synthesizer (though these songs have more in common with "Erie Canal" and "Drill Ye Tarriers, Drill" than with Depeche Mode) and it fits in perfectly. Many of the songs are short and seem to be over before they've barely begun and they have oblique titles that have no obvious connection to the lyrics. And while the lyrics never stray into the carnival surrealism of Captain Beefheart or Robert Pollard, they are still cryptic and elusive. Obsessively sorrowful, with every song in a minor key, IMPALA is haunting and addictive, full of feeling and melody.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Songs: Ohia

Product Info:

  • UPC: 656605001722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item