Flamin' Groovies Jumpin' in the Night

Jumpin' in the Night
4 ratings
Price: $17.08
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  987C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 22, 2005
  • Label: DBK Works

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.129
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he primeval rumble of the opening title cut - one of their best - just rages."


  • 1.Jumpin' in the Night
  • 2.Next One Crying
  • 3.First Plane Home
  • 4.In the U.S.A.
  • 5.Down, Down, Down
  • 6.Yes I Am
  • 7.Werewolves of London
  • 8.It Won't Be Wrong
  • 9.Please Please Me
  • 10.Tell Me Again
  • 11.Absolutely Sweet Marie
  • 12.5D (Fifth Dimension)
  • 13.Lady Friend

Product Description:

Flamin' Groovies: Cyril Jordan (keyboards); George Alexander (bass guitar, background vocals); David Wright (drums); Chris Wilson, Mike Wilhelm.
Personnel: Cyril Jordan (vocals, guitar, Mellotron); Chris Wilson (vocals, guitar); Chris "Poet" Wilson, George Alexander (vocals); Mike Wilhelm (guitar); David Wright, David Wright (drums).
Liner Note Author: Steve Wynn.
Recording information: Advision; Eden Studios.
The third and last of the Flamin' Groovies late-'70s albums for Sire, Jumpin' in the Night storms out of the gate with the title song, a top-shelf rocker that brings the muscle of the Flamingo-era lineup of the Groovies to the more style-conscious British Invasion sonics of Cyril Jordan's version. Though Jumpin' in the Night never rocks that hard or that well again, it does sound decidedly tighter and tougher than 1978's Flamin' Groovies Now, and guitarist Mike Wilhelm, a new addition to the Now lineup, is much better integrated into their wall of guitars, with the Groovies sounding more solid than they did a year before. But while Jumpin' in the Night finds the Flamin' Groovies sounding better than ever, the material unfortunately lets them down. It's no wonder why the Flamin' Groovies loved the Byrds -- both were American bands who fell in love with the sounds of British rock and crafted their own variation on the style -- but three Byrds covers on this album is about two too many (especially given how clunky David Wright's drumming sounds on "5D"), and though having the Groovies tackle "Absolutely Sweet Marie" and "Please Please Me" sounds good on paper, the audible results are a bit underwhelming. (On the other hand, their cover of "Werewolves of London" is better than anyone had a right to expect.) The production and engineering by Roger Bechirian is crisp and flattering to the guitars, but lacks the resonance of Dave Edmunds' more layered approach on Shake Some Action and Now. A great band, the Flamin' Groovies often seemed to have a hard time reconciling their best qualities with the record-making process, and Jumpin' in the Night is probably the best example of this dilemma, though it has more than enough worthwhile moments to compensate. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Flamin' Groovies

Product Info

  • UPC: 646315051223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)