Victor Wooten Live in America (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.8
22 ratings
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.08
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  COMP 974323

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 9, 2001
  • Label: Compass Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 4/2002, pp.108-109
"...Demonstration of what this electric bass legend is about....thump 'n' slap technique taken to the nth degree...matching the genres of funk, jazz and folk traditions..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Are You Ready, Baby? - (with Bootsy Collins)
  • 2.What Did He Say?
  • 3.Hormones in the Headphones
  • 4.Nobody Knows My Name
  • 5.Hero
  • 6.Yinin' & Yangin' / Hey Girl
  • 7.Sacred Silence / The Jam Man
  • 8.Tappin' And Thumpin' / Born In The Dark / I Can't Make You Love Me
  • 9.James Brown! / Iron Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Miller Time - (with Marcus Miller)
  • 2.Good People
  • 3.Imagine This
  • 4.I Dream in Color
  • 5.My Life
  • 6.U Can't Hold No Groove...
  • 7.Me and My Bass Guitar
  • 8.Pretty Little Lady
  • 9.If You Want Me To Stay / Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)

Product Description:

Personnel: Victor Wooten, Bootsy Collins (vocals, guitar, bass); Joeseph Wooten (vocals, keyboards, Theremin); Reggi Wooten (vocals, guitar); MC Divinity (vocals, bass); JD Blair (vocals, drums); Michael Kott (vocals); Anthony "Flex" Wellington (bass, background vocals); Marcus Miller (bass); Tony Byrd (drums); Sweet Lipps (background vocals).
Engineers include: Kurt Storey, Zach Newton, Robert Battaglia.
Producers include: Bootsy Collins.
Victor Wooten's fourth solo record is a double-disc package documenting four years on the road with brothers Reggie Wooten (guitar and vocals) and Joseph Wooten (keyboards and vocals), as well as JD Blair (drums and vocals). The Wooten band serves up full-throttle funk, R&B, and pop power ballads, as well as feel-good fusion, often with a dash of hip-hop courtesy of rapper (and guest bassist) MC Divinity. The leader's widely celebrated bass virtuosity is on display throughout, but most explicitly during "Hey Girl," "Tappin' and Thumpin'," "Sacred Silence/The Jam Man," "Me and My Bass Guitar," and "Pretty Little Lady." Disc one begins with a studio-recorded introduction from P-Funk bass legend Bootsy Collins, disc two with a bass duel featuring fusion veteran Marcus Miller. Tributes to other musical heroes (Sly Stone, James Brown, and Jaco Pastorius) crop up during the course of the album's 118 combined minutes. While there's much to be said for their tightness and musicianship, Wooten and company can get bogged down in overly long jams, and some of their live schtick doesn't translate so well on record. ~ David R. Adler

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.8
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Victor Wooten

Product Info:

  • UPC: 766397432328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items