Michael Hedges Beyond Boundaries: Guitar Solos

Beyond Boundaries: Guitar Solos
17 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 70066
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

NAPRA Review - 03-04/02, p.84
"...Emotionally intelligent composition and arrangements, intricacies of melody, and an innovative approach toward playing characterize these pieces..."


  • 1.Rickover's Dream
  • 2.Aerial Boundaries
  • 3.Eleven Small Roaches
  • 4.Ragamuffin
  • 5.Ritual Dance
  • 6.Chava's Song
  • 7.The Double Planet
  • 8.Jitterboogie
  • 9.Java Man
  • 10.Bensusan
  • 11.Because It's There
  • 12.The Unexpected Visitor
  • 13.The 2nd Law
  • 14.Baal T'shuvah
  • 15.The Funky Avocado
  • 16.Dream Beach
  • 17.Gospel
  • 18.Sofa, No 1
  • 19.Rickover's Dream

Product Description:

Solo performer: Michael Hedges (acoustic guitar, harp guitar, piano).
Producers: Will Ackerman, Michael Hedges, Steven Miller, Eliot Mazer, John Diliberto.
Includes liner notes by John Diliberto.
There were few boundaries for the late Michael Hedges, who did everything he could to dissolve the limitations of the acoustic guitar and give voice to the symphonies in his head. Tapping with his left hand, slapping with his right, thwacking the guitar body percussively, he didn't allow a single inch of his instrument to go unplayed.
In his later work he experimented with vocals, flute, and keyboards, but BEYOND BOUNDARIES compiles his most moving solo guitar compositions. Here he employs unusual tunings, subtle harmonics, and an eclectic writing style that takes him far beyond the confines of the "new age" tag. He explores finger-picked folk ("Rickover's Dream"), frolicsome baroque ("Eleven Small Roaches"), harp guitar ("The Double Planet"), slow jazz ("Dream Beach"), space-funk ("The Funky Avocado"), even a Frank Zappa cover. As impressive as his compositional skills and technique were, his approach to songs was always playful and humble. For the uninitiated, this is a handy introduction to the music of a virtuoso and blithe spirit.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Michael Hedges

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,765
  • UPC: 886977006623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

New Age: Guitar Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)