Queen Sheer Heart Attack (2-CD)

Sheer Heart Attack (2-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  983R
on most orders of $25+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Hollywood Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/02, p.150
Indispensable - "...Introduced the roaring chrome camp-rock of future Queen....This album was one of the great pop/rock admixtures of the '70s..."
Q (Magazine) - p.118
"[This is] the Queen album most beloved of generations of hard rock bands....The driving rock of the previous record was there in the shape of 'Brighton Rock'..."
Q (Magazine) - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's on late-1974's SHEER HEART ATTACK that everything fell into place....Grandiloquent rock songs always one guitar solo away from self-indulgence."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.99
4 stars out of 5 -- "SHEER HEART ATTACK is where the sound takes on its own identity, while still being deliciously schizophrenic."
Uncut (magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "SHEER HEART ATTACK was a leap forward for Queen. It had a thrilling sense of lunacy: any kind of music was permissable as long as it was executed to perfection."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Brighton Rock
  • Buy for $1.292.Killer Queen
  • Buy for $1.293.Tenement Funster
  • Buy for $1.294.Lily of the Valley
  • Buy for $1.295.Now I'm Here
  • Buy for $1.296.In the Lap of the Gods
  • Buy for $1.297.Stone Cold Crazy
  • Buy for $1.298.Dear Friends
  • Buy for $1.299.Misfire
  • Buy for $1.2910.Bring Back That Leroy Brown
  • Buy for $1.2911.She Makes Me (Stormtroopers In Stilettos)
  • Buy for $1.2912.In the Lap of the Gods ....Revisited

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Now I'm Here [Live At Hammersmith Odean] - (live)
  • Buy for $1.292.Flick of the Wrist [BBC Session 1974] - (live)
  • Buy for $1.293.Tenement Funster [BBC Session 1974] - (live)
  • Buy for $1.294.Bring Back That Leroy Brown [2011 A Capella Mix] - (remix)
  • Buy for $1.295.In the Lap of the Gods [Live At Wembley Stadium, 1886] - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Brian May (vocals, guitar, piano); Freddie Mercury (vocals, piano); Roger Taylor (vocals, drums, percussion); John Deacon (acoustic guitar, double bass, bass guitar).
Recording information: AIR Studios; Trident, Wessex, Rockfield.
Photographer: Mick Rock .
SHEER HEART ATTACK is widely considered Queen's best pre-"Bohemian Rhapsody" album. Containing their first global hit single, "Killer Queen," it certainly qualifies as one of Queen's best all-time releases. Just prior to the recording of the album, Queen was making very important inroads in America by opening a US tour for Mott the Hoople, but had to cut it short when guitarist Brian May became seriously ill. Instead of moping, the band immediately began writing and recording SHEER HEART ATTACK while May recovered. Upon its release, fans were pleasantly surprised to witness Queen's growth--although there were still plenty of hard rock numbers, other musical styles were tried and perfected, while the energy of their live show shined through in many of their new songs.
The album's other popular single, "Now I'm Here," would prove to be a concert staple for years to come, while the opening "Brighton Rock" is a superb showcase for the many talents of May. Perhaps most significantly, singer Freddie Mercury really came into his own on SHEER HEART ATTACK, having no problem handling ragtime tunes ("Bring Back That Leroy Brown"), sounds from the Caribbean ("Misfire"), unaccompanied piano ballads ("Dear Friends"), or raging heavy metal ("Stone Cold Crazy," "Flick Of The Wrist").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Queen

Product Info

  • UPC: 050087240714
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)