Johnny Winter Johnny Winter [Import]

Johnny Winter [Import]
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V7HA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Sony Japan

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 5/97, p.144
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Winter's vocals rasp with a raw edge that matches his cranium-scooping guitar sound...Before the '70s, Winter was burrowing beneath some deep blues roots."
Down Beat - p.68
3.5 stars out of 5 - "His lines, even the speediest and the wildest, have a sense of order. Back then, Winter could really sing, too..."


  • 1.I'm Yours and I'm Hers
  • 2.Be Careful With a Fool
  • 3.Dallas
  • 4.Mean Mistreater
  • 5.Leland Mississippi Blues
  • 6.Good Morning Little School Girl
  • 7.When You Got a Good Friend
  • 8.I'll Drown In My Own Tears
  • 9.Back Door Friend
  • 10.Country Girl
  • 11.Dallas
  • 12.Two Steps From the Blues
  • 13.Leland Mississippi Blues [Live At the Woodstock Music & Art Fair]
  • 14.Mean Town Blues [Live At the Woodstock Music & Art Fair]

Product Description:

Also available in a 3-pack with SECOND WINTER and CAPTURED LIVE.
Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, harp); Tommy Shannon (electric bass); "Uncle" John Turner (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Tomoyuki Yamazaki; Kuni Takeuchi.
Recording information: Nashville (02/1969); San Francisco (02/1969); The Woodstock Music & Art Fair (02/1969); Nashville (03/05/1969); San Francisco (03/05/1969); The Woodstock Music & Art Fair (03/05/1969); Nashville (08/18/1969); San Francisco (08/18/1969); The Woodstock Music & Art Fair (08/18/1969).
Photographers: Eddie Kramer; Sandy Speiser.
Among white blues singers of the 1960s, there were some who studied the music so intently they amazed even the genre's creators with their technical mastery. A select few, however, seemed to be born oozing authenticity, sounding just as soulful as the greatest black bluesmen while forging a completely new sound. Johnny Winter belonged in the second category. A long-haired hippie albino, he astounded initially skeptical listeners with his Howlin' Wolf-like vocals and wild Johnny Guitar Watson-esque guitar stylings. THE WOODSTOCK EXPERIENCE showcases Winter's first taste of national exposure, first with his 1969 self-titled debut album, and then with his set at the Woodstock festival later the same year. The latter recording is the revelation here--a tornado of raging slide guitar and shouted vocals that sounds as if a late night Lone Star State roadhouse gig has been magically transported to the upstate New York farm. With several tracks clocking in at over 10 minutes ("Mean Town Blues," a hellacious Edgar Winter-led jam on "Tobacco Road"), the album showcases Johnny at his freest and most explosive.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Winter

Product Info

  • UPC: 4547366059038
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)