Jimmie Noone Chicago Rhythm - Apex Blues: The Recordings of Jimmie Noone 1923-1943 (4-CD)

Chicago Rhythm - Apex Blues: The Recordings of
2 ratings
Only 7 copies left
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  V7F5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: July 24, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Play That Thing
  • 2.The One I Love Belongs to Somebody Else
  • 3.Lonesome and Sorry
  • 4.Messin' Around
  • 5.I Know That You Know
  • 6.Sweet Sue
  • 7.Four or Five Times
  • 8.Every Evening
  • 9.Ready for the River
  • 10.Forevermore
  • 11.Too Busy
  • 12.Oh, Sister! Ain't That Hot?
  • 13.Apex Blues
  • 14.A Monday Date
  • 15.Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me
  • 16.Oh, Sister! Ain't That Hot?
  • 17.King Joe
  • 18.Sweet Lorraine
  • 19.Some Rainy Day
  • 20.I Can't Give You Anything but Love
  • 21.Baby
  • 22.It's Tight Like That
  • 23.Let's Sow a Wild Oat
  • 24.She's Funny That Way
  • 25.St. Louis Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Chicago Rhythm
  • 2.I Got a Misery
  • 3.Wake Up, Chillun, Wake Up
  • 4.Love Me or Leave Me
  • 5.Anything You Want
  • 6.Am I Blue?
  • 7.My Daddy Rocks Me with One Steady Roll
  • 8.Apex Blues
  • 9.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 10.That Rhythm Man
  • 11.Off Time
  • 12.S'posin'
  • 13.True Blue Lou
  • 14.Through (How Can You Say We're Through?)
  • 15.Satisfied
  • 16.I'm Doin' What I'm Doin' for Love
  • 17.He's a Good Man to Have Around
  • 18.My Melancholy Baby
  • 19.After You've Gone
  • 20.Love
  • 21.Rado Scuffle, El
  • 22.Deep Trouble
  • 23.Cryin' for the Carolines
  • 24.Have a Little Faith in Me
  • 25.Should I?

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I'm Following You
  • 2.When You're Smiling
  • 3.I Lost My Gal from Memphis
  • 4.On Revival Day
  • 5.I'm Drifting Back to Dreamland
  • 6.Virginia Lee
  • 7.So Sweet
  • 8.San
  • 9.You Rascal You
  • 10.Bring It on Home to Grandma
  • 11.Little White Lies
  • 12.Something to Remember You By
  • 13.He's Not Worth Your Tears
  • 14.Trav'lin' All Alone
  • 15.I Need Lovin'
  • 16.It's You
  • 17.River Stay 'Way from My Door
  • 18.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • 19.Dixie Lee
  • 20.Inka Dinka Doo
  • 21.Delta Bound
  • 22.Like Me a Little Bit Less
  • 23.A Porter's Love Song
  • 24.I'd Do Anything for You
  • 25.Shine

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Liza
  • 2.Soon (There'll Be Just the Two of Us)
  • 3.Lookie, Lookie, Lookie, Here Comes Cookie
  • 4.Lullaby of Broadway
  • 5.It's Easy to Remember
  • 6.He's a Different Kind of Guy
  • 7.'Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
  • 8.The Blues Jumped a Rabbit
  • 9.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 10.Sweet Lorraine
  • 11.I Know That You Know
  • 12.Bump It (The Bumps) (Apex Blues)
  • 13.Four or Five Times
  • 14.Japansy
  • 15.New Orleans Hop Scop Blues
  • 16.Keystone Blues
  • 17.They Got My Number Now
  • 18.Intro Into...
  • 19.A Porter's Love Song
  • 20.Goodbye, Don't Cry Blues
  • 21.Body and Soul
  • 22.Lady Be Good
  • 23.Memories of You
  • 24.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 25.I'm Sorry I Made You Cry

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmie Noone (vocals, clarinet, alto saxophone); Junie C. Cobb (vocals, guitar, banjo); Eddie Pollack (vocals, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Guy Kelly (vocals, trumpet); Louis Armstrong (vocals, cornet); Jack Teagarden (vocals, trombone); Earl Hines (vocals, piano); O'Neill Spencer (vocals, drums); Elmo Tanner, Ed Thompson, Helen Savage, Georgia White, May Alix, Lillie Delk Christian, Mildred Bailey, Art Jarrett (vocals); Mancy Carr, Wilbur Gorham (guitar, banjo); Dave Barbour, John Henley, Lonnie Johnson, Teddy Bunn (guitar); Joi Basley, Stan Wilson (banjo); Jimmy Bell (violin); Clifford King (clarinet, alto saxophone); Pete Brown Brooklyn Blues Blowers (alto saxophone); Jerome Pasquall, Frances Whitby (tenor saxophone); Natty Dominique, Billy May, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Elwood Graham, Freddie Keppard, Alex Calamese, Tommy Ladnier (cornet); Fayette Williams, Eddie Vincent, Preston Jackson (trombone); Alex "Charlie Brown" Hill , Frank Smith , Gideon Honore, Richard M. Jones (piano); Ollie Powers, Johnny Wells , Benny Washington, Tubby Hall, Zutty Singleton, Wallace Bishop (drums).
Liner Note Author: Sally-Ann Worsfold.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/1923-??/1943); New York, NY (09/1923-??/1943); Richmond, IN (09/1923-??/1943); Yes Yes Club, Chicago, IL (09/1923-??/1943).
Directors: Ollie Powers; Jimmie Noone.
A smooth playing New Orleans clarinetist, Jimmie Noone first made his mark as a bandleader at Chicago's Apex Club in the early 1920s with his impressive Apex Club Orchestra, and he prefigured in many ways later clarinet-playing bandleaders like Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw. This comprehensive four-disc, 100-track set spans Noone's entire recording career, beginning with his 1923 session with the Harmony Syncopators and ending with his final session in 1943 with the Capitol Jazzmen, and includes two versions of Noone's signature tune, "Sweet Lorraine," as well as two versions of the swirling "Apex Blues" and a zippy take on "Sweet Georgia Brown." Featured players along the way here include famed trumpeter Louis Armstrong, pianist Earl Hines, trombonist Jack Teagarden, and singer Mildred Bailey, among others. Although his recording career was relatively brief, Noone's influence, particularly on figures like Goodman, was immense. This generous set shows why. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jimmie Noone

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 95,106
  • UPC: 788065902629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.83/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)