The Fire/Fury R&B Story (2-CD)
by Various Artists

The Fire/Fury R&B Story (2-CD)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y3C5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Fuel 2000

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Kansas City - Wilbert Harrison
  • Buy for $0.992.Number 9 Train - Tarheel Slim
  • Buy for $0.993.Fannie Mae - Buster Brown
  • Buy for $0.994.Pour the Corn - Hal Paige & The Whalers
  • Buy for $0.995.Come on Little Boy - June Bateman
  • Buy for $0.996.Sky Is Crying, The - Elmore James
  • Buy for $0.997.Empty Arms - Mighty Joe Young
  • Buy for $0.998.Good to the Bone - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • Buy for $0.999.Keep A Calling - Paul Perryman
  • Buy for $0.9910.All My Life - Riff Ruffin
  • Buy for $0.9911.Hard Grind - Wild Jimmy Spruill
  • Buy for $0.9912.Lookout - Rockin' Bradley
  • Buy for $0.9913.There Is Something on Your Mind, Pts. 1-2 - Bobby Marchan
  • Buy for $0.9914.Dance Honey Dance - The Velvets
  • Buy for $0.9915.Please Don't Do - Johnny Acey
  • Buy for $0.9916.Wildcat Tamer - Tarheel Slim
  • Buy for $0.9917.Going Back to My Hometown - Hal Paige & The Whalers
  • Buy for $0.9918.Jaywalking - The Upsetters

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ya Ya - Lee Dorsey
  • 2.Booty Green - Bobby Marchan
  • 3.Why Baby - Mighty Joe Young
  • 4.Making It - Willis "Gator" Jackson
  • 5.Work to Be Done - Paul Perryman
  • 6.Why - Johnny Acey
  • 7.Lock Me in Your Heart - Little Ann / Tarheel Slim
  • 8.Kansas City March - Wild Jimmy Spruill
  • 9.Do-Re-Mi - Lee Dorsey
  • 10.You're Going to Miss Me (When I'm Gone) - Chuck Bradford
  • 11.I Need Your Loving - Dee Dee Ford / Don Gardner
  • 12.Sugar Babe - Buster Brown
  • 13.Let's Stick Together - Wilbert Harrison
  • 14.These Lonely Tears - Little Joe Cook
  • 15.Don't You Worry - Dee Dee Ford / Don Gardner
  • 16.So Tired (Of Running Away from Love) - Willie Hightower
  • 17.Human - Billy Hambric
  • 18.I Love You (Yes I Do) - Willie Hightower

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Producer Bobby Robinson released a slew of classic blues and R&B sides on his Harlem-based Fury and Fire record labels in the late '50s and early '60s, including tracks by such notables as Elmore James, Lightnin' Hopkins, Lee Dorsey, and many others, and several of these are collected in this two-disc, 38-track set, including such classic cuts as Wilbert Harrison's "Kansas City," harpist Buster Brown's "Fannie Mae" and "Sugar Babe," Elmore James' "The Sky Is Crying," and Lee Dorsey's "Ya Ya" and "Do-Re-Mi." It's not the whole story of Robinson's achievements as a producer and label owner, but it certainly paints a compelling portrait of his importance in both roles as part of the late-'50s and early-'60s New York music scene. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,488
  • UPC: 030206188028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)