Laura Nyro Eli and the Thirteenth Confession

Eli and the Thirteenth Confession
3 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 70766
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/28/68, p.29
"...Laura Nyro's music is a mixed marriage of diverse styles. Her melodies and lead vocal betray a Bacharach-David type of sophistication...the mark of an original and brilliant young talent..."
Q - 10/02, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "...A passionate mix of Brill Building pop, show tunes, blue-eyed soul and uninibited poetics..."


  • 1.Luckie
  • 2.Lu
  • 3.Sweet Blindness
  • 4.Poverty Train
  • 5.Lonely Women
  • 6.Eli's Comin'
  • 7.Timer
  • 8.Stoned Soul Picnic
  • 9.Emmie
  • 10.Woman's Blues
  • 11.Once It Was Alright Now (Farmer Joe)
  • 12.December's Boudoir
  • 13.The Confession
  • 14.Lu
  • 15.Stoned Soul Picnic
  • 16.Emmie

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Laura Nyro (vocals, piano); Charlie Calello (arranger, conductor).
Recorded in January & February 1968. Bonus track demos recorded on November 29, 1967.
Includes liner notes by Rick Petreycik.
Widely regarded as one of the finest moments in a stellar recording career, ELI & THE THIRTEENTH CONFESSION was a bold, original amalgam of jazz, soul, folk, and rock. Nyro's freewheeling, open-ended arrangements were brought into sharp focus by her clear, gospel-derived singing and incisive, poetic lyrics. There is a strong spiritual undercurrent at work here, investing even the darker songs with a timeless, celebratory feel. A testament to Nyro's songwriting abilities, ELI contained several songs that became hits for other artists, including "Stoned Soul Picnic" and "Eli's Comin," popularized by the Fifth Dimension and Three Dog Night, respectively.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Laura Nyro

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,948
  • UPC: 886977076626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Rock & Pop: Singer / Songwriter Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)