Sir Douglas Quintet The Mono Singles '68-'72

The Mono Singles '68-'72
1 rating
Only 5 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Y3RS
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 22, 2011
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] marvellous compilation, much of which also feature's Sahm's faithful deputy, Augie Meyers, jabbing away at his distinctively reedy Vox Continental keyboard."


  • 1.Are Inlaws Really Outlaws
  • 2.Sell a Song
  • 3.Mendocino
  • 4.I Wanna Be Your Mama Again
  • 5.It Didn't Even Bring Me Down
  • 6.Lawd, I'm Just a Country Boy in This Great Big Freaky City
  • 7.Dynamite Woman
  • 8.Too Many Dociled Minds
  • 9.At the Crossroads
  • 10.Texas Me
  • 11.Nuevo Laredo
  • 12.I Don't Want to Go Home
  • 13.Be Real
  • 14.I Don't Want to Go Home
  • 15.What About Tomorrow
  • 16.(I Found Love) A Nice Song
  • 17.Catch the Man on the Rise
  • 18.Pretty Flower
  • 19.Me and My Destiny
  • 20.Wasted Days, Wasted Nights
  • 21.Michoacan
  • 22.Westside Blues Again

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Photographer: Clark Besch.
Arranger: Doug Sahm.
Both sides of 11 singles the Sir Douglas Quintet issued between 1968 and 1972 (one of which, the 1970 45 "Be Real"/"I Don't Want to Go Home," was issued under the name Wayne Douglas) are gathered together on this compilation, in mono. The rather specialized format, as well as a selection process that omits any LP-only tracks from consideration, might prevent this from being a best-of survey of the band during this period. But it really does function as something close to it, and certainly as a representative slice of the remarkably wide stylistic territory Doug Sahm and the group covered. Blues, cajun, country, Texas border music, bubblegum, brassy soul, rock & roll, even bits of jazz and psychedelia, they're all present, in separate and combined forces, the unifying ingredient being Sahm's remarkable voice, one of the best in roots rock. He's at his peak here, even if just a few of the songs -- the infectiously bouncy hit "Mendocino," the ace melancholy ballad "At the Crossroads" (perhaps Sahm's finest moment as a songwriter), and the cover of Freddy Fender's "Wasted Days, Wasted Nights" might be familiar to the average listener. Sahm wrote most of the rest of the material, and his eclectic, quirky warmth rarely falters. An arch sense of humor pokes through on songs like "Lawd, I'm Just a Country Boy in This Great Big Freaky City," but Sahm was as seriously introspective as anyone on "I Don't Want to Go Home," another highlight (included in both the Sir Douglas Quintet and "Wayne Douglas" versions). There's a lot of fine and still-overlooked music here, and if it wasn't often the stuff of which hit singles are made, it's still a little surprising that the most accessible cuts (especially the tasty soul-pop 1969 single "It Didn't Even Bring Me Down") didn't reach more ears. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sir Douglas Quintet

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771121820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)