Tom Glazer A Treasury of Civil War Songs

A Treasury of Civil War Songs
5 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y3HK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.John Brown's Body
  • Buy for $0.992.Battle Hymn of the Republic
  • Buy for $0.993.Dixie
  • Buy for $0.994.Maryland, My Maryland
  • Buy for $0.995.The Yellow Rose of Texas
  • Buy for $0.996.The Bonnie Blue Flag
  • Buy for $0.997.Upidee
  • Buy for $0.998.Goober Peas
  • Buy for $0.999.All Quiet Along the Potomac
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tenting on the Old Camp Ground
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Battle Cry of Freedom
  • Buy for $0.9912.Wait for the Wagon
  • Buy for $0.9913.We Are Coming Father Abram
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Arms of Abraham
  • Buy for $0.9915.Just Before the Battle, Mother
  • Buy for $0.9916.Tramp, Tramp, Tramp
  • Buy for $0.9917.Year of Jubilo, The (Kingdom Coming)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Wake, Nicodemus
  • Buy for $0.9919.Marching Through Georgia
  • Buy for $0.9920.When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  • Buy for $0.9921.General Patterson
  • Buy for $0.9922.The Cumberland Gap
  • Buy for $0.9923.Somebody's Darling
  • Buy for $0.9924.The Conquered Banner
  • Buy for $0.9925.The President's Grave

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Glazer (vocals, guitar); Tom Gibney (vocals, guitar, banjo, autoharp, pennywhistle); Kemp Harris (vocals, piano); Patty Gibney, Pam Goff, Jackie Spector, Eileen Gibney (vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Patrick Warfield; Tom Glazer.
The Civil War ushered in the 19th century in so many ways, transforming America and the world into the industrial age and everything that came with it, which included the rise of photography and music publishing, themselves the nascent beginnings of the pop music industry. Thousands of songs were written during the war, and thanks to the publishers, they proliferated -- hundreds of songs of valor, of sadness, of joy, of missing the girl back home, as well as songs describing the geography of battle across the full scale of human emotion. It wasn't pop music exactly, but it was popular, and along with photography and a rapidly evolving print media, it all combined to make the Civil War the most fully documented war to date in history -- it was, in essence, the first modern war. This set features folksinger Tom Glazer (best known for his 1963 novelty song "On Top of Spaghetti") singing some of these Civil War tunes in his clear, measured everyman voice over light guitar, banjo, and autoharp accompaniment. It's nothing fancy as far as studio production goes, but it's probably close to how some of these songs were sung during the war. There's a little bit of everything included here, from songs that work like travel diaries ("Marching Through Georgia" and "Cumberland Gap") to stark and poignant expressions of the casualties of war ("Somebody's Darling"), to reminders of what was at stake ("The Year of Jubilo [Kingdom Coming]"), to offbeat but easily sung songs that simply lifted the spirit ("Goober Peas"). This is an album full of history highlighted by song notes from University of Maryland musicologist Patrick Warfield, who places each song in cultural context, all of which makes A Treasury of Civil War Songs the audio equivalent of a well-documented PBS special. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Tom Glazer

Product Info

  • UPC: 093074018729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)