Jimmy Buffett All the Great Hits [Import]

All the Great Hits [Import]
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9H9E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Prism Platinum


  • 1.Margaritaville
  • 2.Fins
  • 3.Come Monday
  • 4.Volcano
  • 5.Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes
  • 6.Cheeseburger in Paradise
  • 7.Son of a Son of a Sailor
  • 8.Stars Fell on Alabama
  • 9.Miss You So Badly
  • 10.Why Don't We Get Drunk
  • 11.A Pirate Looks at Forty
  • 12.He Went to Paris
  • 13.Grapefruit -- Juicy Fruit
  • 14.Pencil Thin Mustache
  • 15.Boat Drinks
  • 16.Chanson Pour les Petits Enfants
  • 17.Banana Republics
  • 18.Last Mango in Paris

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Jimmy Buffet (vocals, guitar).
Includes liner notes by Roger Dopson.
Jimmy Buffett's ALL THE GREAT HITS is just that, celebrating the beloved country singer-songwriter on 18 songs that include "Why Don't We Get Drunk" and the legendary "Margaritaville."
Personnel: Jimmy Buffett (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
Recording information: 1994.
Since the British reissue label Prism Leisure tends to specialize in compiling albums of unlicensed tracks that have gone out of copyright in Europe or stray recordings of other sorts, it is worth noting that this Jimmy Buffett collection consists of "Original sound recordings courtesy of MCA Records Inc.," as the back cover states. These are the legitimate studio tracks of Jimmy Buffett songs, and thus this disc, covering the years 1973-1985, is like the standard best-of Songs You Know by Heart: Jimmy Buffett's Greatest Hit(s), except that it boasts five more tracks. The title All the Great Hits is something of a misnomer, of course, not only because Buffett hasn't had any hits in the U.K., but also because, even in the U.S., he is arguably a one-hit wonder, that hit of course being "Margaritaville," which naturally leads things off. From there, the album jumps around the era, including early favorites like "Come Monday" and focusing on Buffett's hottest period as a record-seller from the mid-'70s to the early '80s, with one track, "Last Mango in Paris," taking things up to the mid-'80s. Not surprisingly, nothing has been done to improve the sound, so that these seem to be straight CD transfers without much sparkle. Roger Dopson's liner notes do a reasonable job of informing the British fan about Buffett's career, which may have had heavy reference to the sea but never actually crossed the Atlantic; Dopson refers to England as "a market he's [Buffett] never really bothered to woo." True enough, but since Buffett's happy-go-lucky beach-bum persona is a fantasy anyway, there's no reason why music fans in the U.K. wouldn't be as charmed by it as Americans who've never gone near the Gulf Coast. And this is a budget-priced way to sample the highlights of his record catalog. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Buffett

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014293490320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)