Chet Baker Complete 1953-1954 Studio Recordings (2-CD/Import)

Complete 1953-1954 Studio Recordings (2-CD/Import)
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  9H85
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 29, 2004
  • Label: Definitive Spain

Description by

The Original Quartet, Sextet & Septet with Russ Freeman


  • 1.Isn't It Romantic
  • 2.Lamp Is Low
  • 3.Time the Dream's on Me
  • 4.Maid in Mexico
  • 5.Imagination
  • 6.Russ Job
  • 7.Batter Up
  • 8.Easy to Love
  • 9.Long Ago and Fr Away
  • 10.Carson City Stage
  • 11.No Ties
  • 12.All the Things You Are
  • 13.Thrill Is Gone
  • 14.Band Aid
  • 15.Bea's Flat
  • 16.Moon Love
  • 17.Happy Little Sunbeam
  • 18.I Fall in Love Too Easily
  • 19.Winter Wonderland
  • 20.Thrill Is Gone
  • 21.Long Ago and Far Away (Bonus Track)
  • 22.No Ties (Bonus Track)
  • 23.Thrill Is Gone (Bonus Tracks)
  • 24.Moon Love (Bonus Track)
  • 25.Happy Litle Sunbeam (Bonus Track)
  • 26.Winter Wonderland (Bonus Track)
  • 27.But Not For Me
  • 28.Time After Time
  • 29.I et Along Without You Very Well
  • 30.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 31.Look For the Silver Lining
  • 32.My Funny Valentine
  • 33.I Fall in Love Too Easily
  • 34.Headline
  • 35.Bockhanal
  • 36.Ergo
  • 37.A Dandy Line
  • 38.Pro Defunctus
  • 39.Little Old Lady
  • 40.Moonlight Becomes You
  • 41.Goodbye
  • 42.Dot's Groovy
  • 43.Tommy Hawk
  • 44.Half Dozens
  • 45.Little Man, You've Had a Busy Day
  • 46.Stella by Starlight
  • 47.I'm Glad There's You
  • 48.There Will Never Be Nother You (Bonus Track)
  • 49.Little Odl Lady (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

In terms of thoroughness, 2004's Complete 1953-1954 Studio Recordings delivers the goods on trumpeter/vocalist Chet Baker's earliest output for Pacific Jazz. Collected within the double-disc set is much of the same material that can be found on Grey December, Chet Baker Big Band, Chet Baker Quartet Featuring Russ Freeman, and Chet Baker Sings. That said, by the very nature of those modern compilations, each includes additional selections that enthusiasts will inevitably desire. Among the musicians joining Baker are Art Pepper (alto sax), Bud Shank (sax), Phil Urso (tenor sax), Bobby Timmons (piano), Russ Freeman (piano), Shelly Manne (drums), Bob Whitlock (bass), Joe Mondragon (bass), Bobby White (bass), and Larry Bunker (drums). But it is undeniably Baker at the center of the timeless arrangements, most notably Johnny Mandel's "Tommy Hawk" and "I'm Glad There Is You" -- both of which are undisputed high watermarks of the Freeman sextet sessions. Other focal points from the era are the off the cuff "Isn't It Romantic" and the frisky syncopated "Maid in Mexico" -- with Freeman's unmistakable melody lines -- as well as the understated and sublime "Imagination." The latter likewise features one of Baker's all too infrequent vocals, which the artist eventually all but abandoned. Complete 1953-1954 Studio Recordings also boasts a number of 10" EP and alternate 12" LP versions, primarily "No Ties," "There Will Never Be Another You," "Long Ago and Far Away," "The Thrill Is Gone," "Moon Love," "Winter Wonderland," "Happy Little Sunbeam," and "Little Old Lady." Again, it bears mentioning that since this retrospective includes no previously unissued tunes, some may find it a bit redundant. However, parties seeking an apt omnibus of seminal Baker sides can't go wrong here. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Chet Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436006492709
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)