Akiko Tsuruga Sweet and Funky

Sweet and Funky
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y432
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: 18Th & Vine

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.60
4 stars out of 5 -- "SWEET AND FUNKY comes off like a string of inspired blowing sessions, with the Hammond B-3 organist demonstrating why we should believe the hype about her playing..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Meanie Queenie
  • Buy for $0.992.Dlg
  • Buy for $0.993.Sweet and Lovely
  • Buy for $0.994.Stormy Weather
  • Buy for $0.995.Saving All My Love For You
  • Buy for $0.996.Where Is the Love
  • Buy for $0.997.Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  • Buy for $0.998.Mushi-Mushi
  • Buy for $0.999.Booga Lou
  • Buy for $0.9910.Broadway

Product Description:

Personnel: Akiko Tsuruga (Hammond b-3 organ); Eric Johnson , Eric Johnson (guitar); Vince Ector (drums); Wilson "Chembo" Corniel, Jr. (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Pete Fallico.
Recording information: Showplace Studios, NJ (08/10/2006).
Japanese-born Akiko Tsuruga has lived in New York since 2001. Sweet and Funky is her breakthrough CD, showing that she can hold her own with virtually every other jazz organist. Her style fits well into '60s/'70s soul-jazz and hard bop styles, grooving like Charles Earland, Jimmy McGriff, Jimmy Smith and the other great organists of the era without directly copying any of them. She swings her way through standards, blues and three originals, never losing her momentum, drive or flow of rhythmic ideas. Guitarist Eric Johnson (who takes plenty of fine solos), drummer Vince Ector and percussionist Wilson "Chembo" Corniel all have plenty of experience in this type of organ group and keep the music swinging and grooving. Based on the performances on Sweet and Funky, Akiko Tsuruga ranks as one of the top organists around today and, with luck, this is only the beginning. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 723721264956
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)