Art Tatum Storyville Art Tatum

Storyville Art Tatum
1 rating
Price: $5.39
List Price: $5.99
You Save: $0.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HE58
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 29, 2006
  • Label: Storyville Records


  • 1.Tiger Rag 1:57
  • 2.Chinatowm, My Chinatown 1:45
  • 3.Lulu?s Back In Town 2:22
  • 4.Boots And Saddle 2:21
  • 5.After You?ve Gone 2:29
  • 6.Dixieland Band 2:32
  • 7.The Shout 1:34
  • 8.Tiger Rag 2:10
  • 9.Stay As Sweet As You Are 2:33
  • 10.Monday In Manhattan 2:18
  • 11.I Would Do Anything For You 2:13
  • 12.Theme For Piano 0:59
  • 13.In The Middle Of A Kiss 2:34
  • 14.Rosetta 2:14
  • 15.I Wish I Were Twins 2:11
  • 16.Devil In The Moon 3:16
  • 17.Can?t We Be Friends 2:20
  • 18.Ain?t Misbehavin? 4:22
  • 19.Sweet Lorraine 2:10
  • 20.You Took Advantage Of Me 2:08
  • 21.Louise 3:06
  • 22.Song Of The Vagabonds 2:16
  • 23.Night And Day 1:28
  • 24.The Continental 2:54
  • 25.Valse In C# Minor
  • 26.Willow Weep For Me 3:05
  • 27.Memories Of You 3:58
  • 28.Don?t Blame Me 3:58
  • 29.Where Or When 3:19

Product Description:

Featuring 29 solo piano performances by Art Tatum recorded between 1932 and 1953, this Storyville Records set shows that Tatum's astounding skills never truly diminished. Put simply, he was the greatest solo pianist in the history of jazz, and it is unimaginable that anyone will ever surpass him. What's here is somewhat of a mixed bag, with several live radio performances ("Where or When," "Chinatown, My Chinatown," "Lulu's Back in Town"), live recordings from the Embers in New York ("Don't Blame Me," "Memories of You"), and a pair of rare recordings from a 1949 set in a Toronto club ("The Continental," Chopin's Waltz in C sharp minor, Op. 64/2). There are also two versions of Tatum playing his signature "Tiger Rag" here, as well as a breezy version of "Devil in the Moon." Anything Tatum attempted on the piano became transformed, and even standard pieces like "Willow Weep for Me" become exhilarating, careening pieces in Tatum's hands. Sonic qualities vary from track to track here, and this probably isn't the ideal introduction to Tatum, but his singular abilities made each and every time he sat down at the piano worth hearing. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Art Tatum

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101850327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)