Atlas Jazz Explosion Atlas Jazz Explosion

Atlas Jazz Explosion
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $12.98
Your Price: $11.68
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  V7KC
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Empire Musicwerks


  • Buy for $0.991.Blue Moon
  • Buy for $0.992.Smiles
  • Buy for $0.993.Not Yet
  • Buy for $0.994.Easy Pickin', Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.995.Encore
  • Buy for $0.996.My Buddy
  • Buy for $0.997.Once More
  • Buy for $0.998.Piccadilly
  • Buy for $0.999.The Sleeper
  • Buy for $0.9910.Rat-A-Tat
  • Buy for $0.9911.Easy Pickin', Pt. 2
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jesse's Ideas, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.9913.Jesse's Ideas, Pt. 2
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Am One of God's Children (Without Wings)
  • Buy for $0.9915.8-9-10
  • Buy for $0.9916.Congo Buggie
  • Buy for $0.9917.Super Chief
  • Buy for $0.9918.The Boardwalk
  • Buy for $0.9919.Blow Mr. Singleton
  • Buy for $0.9920.Deep Purple
  • Buy for $0.9921.Oozing Along
  • Buy for $0.9922.Gone with the Wind
  • Buy for $0.9923.Pony Express
  • Buy for $0.9924.Broadway Beat
  • Buy for $0.9925.Jiving with Doctor Jive

Product Description:

Personnel: Jackie Kelso (saxophone); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Big John Greer (tenor saxophone); Pee Wee Moore, Charlie Rouse (baritone saxophone); Jesse Drakes (trumpet); Buster Cooper (trombone); Jimmy Neely, Ernie Freeman, Ernie Freeman Combo, Freddie "Ready Freddie" Washington , Gildo Mahones, Freddy Washington , Kelly Owens, Lloyd Glenn (piano); Ram Ramirez (organ); Jimmy Butts (bass instrument); Lester Jenkins, John Godfrey Trio, Ron Jefferson (drums); June Davis, Jimmy Thomason (vocals); Rudy Rutherford (clarinet); Benjamin Brunswick (tenor saxophone); Harold Austin, Jack Parker (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Recording information: New York, NY (1951-1953).
An interesting selection of jazz-leaning jump blues tracks recorded in the early '50s for Larry Mead's L.A.-based Mambo and Vita labels and Tom Robinson's New York-based Atlas Records, Atlas Jazz Explosion consists mostly of tenor sax-led instrumentals that edge toward a hard R&B sound without actually getting there, and hint at jazz without really getting there, either, with the opener, Jackie Kelso's version of "Blue Moon," being fairly representative. There are also a couple of vocal tracks from June Davis, "I Am One of God's Children" and "8-9-10," and a strange organ-and-congas duet called "Congo Buggie" from Freddy Washington that sounds like it could almost be from the surf instrumental craze of a decade later. These are all obscure and rare tracks, and collectors of later-era jump blues will no doubt be delighted at this set, but casual listeners may well be more bewildered than anything else, since these sides seem to occupy a strange zone that is not quite jazz and not quite R&B, retaining some elements of both. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • UPC: 654545081620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm