Jimmy Smith The Fantastic Jimmy Smith

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $12.98
Your Price: $11.68
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  MCHT 450685
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: April 26, 2005
  • Label: Machete Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 2/02, pp.53-4
3 stars out of 5 - "...With jabs, pokes and punches being the most convincing elements of [the album], it's easy to hear that the man who kicked the door to modern organ jazz liked to tear it up from the get-go."
JazzTimes - 5/02, p.158
"...A rarity from the vaults of Bruce Records, documenting the organist in his developing stage when he was a member of the Sonotones..."a


  • 1.Stranger in Paradise
  • 2.Jimmy's Jam
  • 3.It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
  • 4.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 5.I Had the Craziest Dream
  • 6.Tell Me - (with Don Gardner)
  • 7.I Heard a Rhapsody - (with Don Gardner)
  • 8.Jeepers Creepers
  • 9.Jimmy's Swing
  • 10.Misery - (with Don Gardner)
  • 11.Jughead
  • 12.Tea For Two Mambo
  • 13.Sonotone Bounce
  • 14.Dancing on the Ceiling
  • 15.I'll Walk Alone
  • 16.Skokian

Product Description:

This is an expanded edition of THE FANTASTIC JIMMY SMITH, originally released on the Upfront label in the early 60's.
Personnel includes: Jimmy Smith (Hammond B-3 organ); Don Gardner (vocals, drums); Al Cass (tenor saxophone)..
Recorded between 1953 & 1955. Includes liner notes by Larry Hollis.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Jimmy Smith (Hammond b-3 organ); Don Gardner (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Larry Hollis.
When Jimmy Smith burst on the scene in 1955, playing his exciting brand of jazz organ at the Caf? Bohemia and the following year on records for Blue Note, he seemed to appear fully formed from out of nowhere. In the early '60s, a budget LP from the Up Front label had ten obscure selections from the beginning of Smith's career, but failed to give any real information. Now those ten numbers plus six other cuts have been reissued on this historic CD. Recorded most likely during 1953-1954, the performances on this disc comprise Jimmy Smith's earliest recording sessions. Smith is generally joined by tenor saxophonist Al Cass (some numbers have an altoist who might also be Cass), an unknown guitarist (possibly Thornel Schwartz), and drummer/singer Don Gardner, who was actually the leader of the combo. Smith, who just began learning the organ in 1953, displays a heavier touch on these pioneering sides than he would a little later, showing off the influence of Wild Bill Davis and Milt Buckner. He already had plenty of power and his facility was impressive, but his sound was not distinctive yet. The selections all clock in at around three minutes, since the music was meant for release on 45s and hopefully on jukeboxes. Three of the selections have vocals by Gardner, and the music -- much of which has an R&B feel -- includes standards (including "I Can't Give You Anything But Love," "Jeepers Creepers," and "Dancing on the Ceiling"), ballads, and basic originals. The music is enjoyable if not essential, and it is very good to have these historic performances available, showing how Jimmy Smith sounded at the start of his remarkable career. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Smith

Product Info:

  • UPC: 654545068522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item