Modern English Life in the Gladhouse, 1980-1984: Best of Modern English

Life in the Gladhouse, 1980-1984: Best of Modern
6 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GS6C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 19, 2001
  • Label: 4Ad / Ada


  • 1.16 Days
  • 2.Gathering Dust
  • 3.I Melt With You
  • 4.Mesh And Lace
  • 5.Black Houses
  • 6.After The Snow
  • 7.Rainbows End
  • 8.Smiles And Laughter
  • 9.Ricochet Days
  • 10.Dawn Chorus
  • 11.Carry Me Down
  • 12.Machines - (single mix, previously unreleased)
  • 13.Heart
  • 14.Swans On Glass
  • 15.Blue Waves
  • 16.Life In The Gladhouse - (remix)

Product Description:

Modern English: Robbie Grey (vocals); Gary McDowell (guitar); Stephen Walker (keyboards); Michael Conroy (bass); Richard Brown (drums).
Producers: Modern English, Hugh Jones, Robin Mayhew.
Includes liner notes by Steve Malins.
Digitally remastered by John Dent (Loud Mastering).
Few bands have been quite as misrepresented by their hit songs as Modern English was by its 1983 smash "I Melt With You." An exquisite pop confection celebrating the joy of youthful romance (and a huge American video hit in the early days of MTV), "I Melt With You" was something of an anomaly for this moody and experimental crew, whose songs generally tended to have titles like "Black Houses" and "Swans on Glass" and whose sound owed as much to Joy Division as it did to fellow new romantics like Duran Duran. Really, there's nothing much like "I Melt With You" anywhere else on this retrospective compilation. The program opens with the strange and desolate "16 Days," and stays roughly in that vein through songs that all seem to thud along at the same 120-bpm tempo and all seem to mine the same vein of post-punk socio-romantic angst. Imagine a slightly more melodic but enervated Gang of Four (especially on "Black Houses") or a really gloomy Flock of Seagulls ("Rainbows End"). It's not bad stuff, but the only really noteworthy song here is the hit single, and one of the most noteworthy things about it is its dissimilarity to the rest of the band's oeuvre. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Modern English

Product Info

  • UPC: 652637002126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)