Syd Barrett An Introduction to Syd Barrett

An Introduction to Syd Barrett
15 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y59X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.120
4 stars out of 5 -- "The contrast between his zesty Floydian days...and the lethargic isolationism of his solo work has never sounded more heartbreaking."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.73
4 stars out of 5 -- "AN INTRODUCTION tactfully steers us back to the source and accords respect where respect is due for Pink Floyd's spectral absentee figurehead."
Uncut (magazine) - p.81
4 stars out of 5 -- "'Bob Dylan Blues' is a charming reminder of the gentle low-key wit of which Barrett was capable..."


  • 1.Arnold Layne
  • 2.See Emily Play
  • 3.Apples And Oranges
  • 4.Matilda Mother
  • 5.Chapter 24
  • 6.Bike
  • 7.Terrapin
  • 8.Love You
  • 9.Dark Globe
  • 10.Here I Go
  • 11.Octopus
  • 12.She Took a Long Cool Look
  • 13.If It's In You
  • 14.Baby Lemonade
  • 15.Dominoes
  • 16.Gigolo Aunt
  • 17.Effervescing Elephants
  • 18.Bob Dylan Blues

Product Description:

Audio Mixers: Damon Iddins; Andy Jackson .
Illustrators: Finlay Cowan; Dan Abbott.
There have been a number of Syd Barrett compilations but, remarkably, 2010's An Introduction to Syd Barrett is the first to combine Pink Floyd material with his solo recordings, so it truly provides an introduction in a way no previous collection has. It's possible to quibble that there are a few Floyd songs that should have made it here -- mostly selections from The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, including "Astronomy Domine" and "Lucifer Sam," but this favors the non-LP early singles "Arnold Layne," "See Emily Play," and "Apples and Oranges," which do point the way toward such solo cuts as "Octopus," "Baby Lemonade," "Terrapin," "Gigolo Aunt," and "Effervescing Elephant," all present and accounted for here. Some may also quibble about inclusions of new mixes for "Here I Go," "Octopus," "She Took a Long Cool Look," "Dominoes," and "Matilda Mother," preferring the original mixes, but these new mixes don't call attention to themselves nor do they detract from the first disc to provide a strong, concise introduction to Barrett's twisted genius. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Syd Barrett

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099990773624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)