John Lennon Gimme Some Truth (4-CD)

Gimme Some Truth (4-CD)
23 ratings
13 copies available
Price: $35.98
List Price: $39.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  Y57J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Capitol

Description by

Four-CD collection released to coincide with what would have been his 70th birthday, Gimme Some Truth presents 72 of Lennon's solo recordings on four themed CDs: 'Roots' (John's Rock 'n' Roll roots and influences), 'Working Class Hero' (John's socio-political songs), 'Woman' (John's love songs) and 'Borrowed Time' (John's songs about life). All titles digitally remastered and restored to John's original audio mixes spanning his solo career.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Working Class Hero
  • 2.Instant Karma (We All Shine On)
  • 3.Power To the People
  • 4.God
  • 5.I Don't Wanna Be a Soldier Mama I Don't Wanna Die
  • 6.Gimme Some Truth
  • 7.Sunday Bloody Sunday
  • 8.Steel and Glass
  • 9.Meat City
  • 10.I Don't Wanna Face It
  • 11.Remember
  • 12.Woman is the Nigger of the World
  • 13.I Found Out
  • 14.Isolation
  • 15.Imagine
  • 16.Happy Xmas (War is Over)
  • 17.Give Peace a Chance
  • 18.Only People

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mother
  • 2.Hold On
  • 3.You Are Here
  • 4.Well Well Well
  • 5.Oh My Love
  • 6.Oh Yoko
  • 7.Grow Old With Me
  • 8.Love
  • 9.Jealous Guy
  • 10.Woman
  • 11.Out the Blue [Live]
  • 12.Bless You
  • 13.Nobody Loves You (When You're Down and Out)
  • 14.My Mummy's Dead
  • 15.I'm Losing You
  • 16.Just Like Starting Over [Live]
  • 17.#9 Dream
  • 18.Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mind Games
  • 2.Nobody Told Me
  • 3.Cleanup Time
  • 4.Crippled Inside
  • 5.How Do You Sleep
  • 6.How
  • 7.Intuition
  • 8.I'm Stepping Out
  • 9.Whatever Gets You Thru the Night
  • 10.Old Dirt Road
  • 11.Scared
  • 12.What You Got
  • 13.Cold Turkey
  • 14.New York City
  • 15.Surprise Surprise (Sweet Bird of Paradox)
  • 16.Borrowed Time
  • 17.Look At Me
  • 18.Watching the Wheels

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Be Bop a Lula
  • 2.You Can't Catch Me
  • 3.Rip It Up / Ready Teddy
  • 4.Tight A$
  • 5.Ain't That a Shame
  • 6.Sweet Little Sixteen
  • 7.Do You Wanna Dance
  • 8.Slippin' and Slidin
  • 9.Peggy Sue
  • 10.Bring It On Home / Send Me Some Lovin'
  • 11.Yer Blues [Live]
  • 12.Just Because
  • 13.Boney Moronie
  • 14.Beef Jerky
  • 15.Ya Ya
  • 16.Hound Dog [Live]
  • 17.Stand By Me
  • 18.Here We Go Again

Product Description:

Audio Remasterers: Sean Magee; Alex Wharton; Paul Hicks.
Liner Note Author: Anthony DeCurtis.
Photographers: J�rgen Vollmer; Lilo Raymond; Spud Murphy ; Nishi F. Saimaru; Bob Gruen.
Much grander than the single-disc Power to the People but not nearly as lavish as the 11-disc Signature Box, the four-disc Gimme Some Truth is the middle ground of Apple/EMI's 2010 John Lennon reissue series: a collection of four thematic collections offered at a reasonable price. Breaking any artist's work into themes is tricky, but the topics here are broad enough to give the compilers some wiggle room: Working Class Hero contains Lennon's protest songs, Woman his songs of love and women ("Mother" and "My Mummy's Dead" don't quite qualify as romantic tunes, after all), Borrowed Time features songs about "life," and his rock & roll numbers are presented on a disc called Roots, oddly sharing its title with the controversial original unofficial release of Rock 'n' Roll (indeed, this Roots disc winds up containing the entirety of Rock 'n' Roll). Some of the selected songs may not quite fit the themes but the 72 cuts here contain much of Lennon's solo best, making this a good thorough overview for those who need more than the hits but don't want to invest in full albums. It's at a very nice price point, too. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for John Lennon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,244
  • UPC: 5099990664229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)