Some Time in New York City (2-CD)

Some Time in New York City (2-CD)
8 ratings
Only 9 copies left
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y56S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 4, 2010
  • Originally Released: 1972
  • Label: Capitol

Description by

Digitally remastered two-CD edition of this 1972 studio album from the Rock icon and his wife.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Woman is the Nigger of the World
  • 2.Sisters O Sisters
  • 3.Attica State
  • 4.Born In a Prison
  • 5.New York City
  • 6.Sunday Bloody Sunday
  • 7.The Luck of the Irish
  • 8.John Sinclair
  • 9.Angela
  • 10.We're All Water

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Cold Turkey [Live]
  • 2.Don't Worry Kyoko [Live]
  • 3.Well (Baby Please Don't Go) [Live]
  • 4.Jamrag [Live]
  • 5.Scumbag [Live]
  • 6.Au [Live]

Product Description:

Personnel: John Lennon (vocals, guitar); Yoko Ono (vocals, drums); Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); Stan Bronstein (flute, saxophone); Adam Ippolito (piano, organ); Jim Keltner, Richard Frank, Jr. (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Elephant's Memory, Invisible Strings, The Mothers of Invention.
Photographers: Iain Macmillan; Tom Blau; Bob Gruen; Joe Sia.
Arrangers: John Lennon; Yoko Ono.
While Lennon claimed to have always been politically minded, given his working-class upbringing in class-conscious England ("I've been satirizing the system since my childhood," he once mused), rock-pop sensibilities, clever wordplay, or matters of the heart usually took precedence in his musical output. But here Lennon and Yoko, accompanied by New York's Elephant's Memory, sing and scream freely against sexism in "Woman Is the Nigger Of The World" and "Sisters, O Sisters." They protest incarceration in "John Sinclair," "Attica State," and "Born In A Prison," colonialism in "Sunday Bloody Sunday" and "The Luck Of The Irish," and racism in "Angela."
The richness of Phil Spector's production fills out the danceable grooves on nearly every track. Also featured is Lennon's paean to his adopted home, "New York City," with allusions to doping clerics and transsexual rockers as well as the highly quotable line, "What a bad-ass city!" On the bonus disc, Lennon and Ono get it on with Zappa and the Mothers in live sets from London and New York. Things heat up considerably with "Cold Turkey," freak out with "Don't Worry Kyoko," and veer into the ridiculous with audience participation on "Scumbag." SOMETIME IN NEW YORK CITY is some of the groovin'-est, most tuneful agit-prop ever committed to disc.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for John Lennon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,001
  • UPC: 5099990650727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)