NRBQ NRBQ [1999]

NRBQ [1999]
11 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  336RJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/5/99, p.83
" fine mettle, with pearly Beatlesque beauts...lots of loopy wit...and the rockin' energy that makes them irresistible live....a sound that's rootsy, sweet, comic, and cosmic." - Rating: A-


  • Buy for $0.991.Ain't No Horse
  • Buy for $0.992.Sail On Sail On
  • Buy for $0.993.Pain
  • Buy for $0.994.Housekeeping
  • Buy for $0.995.Breakaway To My Dreams
  • Buy for $0.996.Puddin' Truck
  • Buy for $0.997.Cm Pups
  • Buy for $0.998.Take Me To Your Secret
  • Buy for $0.999.Blame It On The World
  • Buy for $0.9910.Birdman
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Want My Mommy
  • Buy for $0.9912.Careful What You Ask For
  • Buy for $0.9913.Tired of Your Permanent
  • Buy for $0.9914.Love Came To Me
  • Buy for $0.9915.Termites

Product Description:

NRBQ: Johnny Spampinato (vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, mandola, trombone); Joey Spampinato (vocals, acoustic guitar, C-melody saxophone, bass); Terry Adams (vocals, keyboards, percussion); Tom Ardolino (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Dorothy Sands (vocals); T-Bone Wolk (banjo); Jim Hoke (flute, harmonica, tenor saxophone); Kami Lyle (trumpet).
Recorded at Soundesign, Brattleboro, Vermont.
Personnel: Johnny Spampinato (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandola, trombone); Joey Spampinato (vocals, acoustic guitar, C-melody saxophone); Terry Adams (vocals, keyboards, percussion); T-Bone Wolk (banjo); Jim Hoke (flute, harmonica, tenor saxophone); Kami Lyle (trumpet); Tom Ardolino (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Chris Andersen; Chris Anderson ; Danny Bernini; Derrick Jordan; Mark Tanzer; Billy Shaw; Carl Nappa.
Recording information: Soundesign, Brattleboro, VT; Soundesign, Rattleboro, VT.
Arrangers: Jim Hoke; Joey Spampinato; Kami Lyle.
This self-titled album comes 30 years after NRBQ's also-eponymous debut. NRBQ is the band's second studio album (the other being YOU'RE NICE PEOPLE, YOU ARE) since guitarist Johnny Spampinato replaced Al Anderson after his 22-year stint. The 15 songs include highly personalized, rootsy numbers ("Puddin' Truck," "Tire Of Your Permanent"), gorgeous uptempo pop ("Sail On Sail On," "Take Me To Your Secret"), romantic balladry ("Love Came To Me"), and hard-to-classify novelty numbers ("Birdman," "Termites").
The rhythm section of drummer Tom Ardolino and bassist Joey Spampinato is still a wonder to behold, full of surprise, invention, and good taste. As has been the case since NRBQ's WILD WEEKEND album, the keyboards of founding member Terry Adams assume a broader role here. Johnny Spampinato's guitar playing is again shown to full effect (after the two live albums, TOKYO and YOU GOTTA BE LOOSE), and he effortlessly fits himself into the interplay of this amazing and long-running quartet.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for NRBQ

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661316621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)