New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra Creole Belles

Creole Belles
1 rating
Price: $16.79
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34V94
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Arhoolie Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Sing Out! - 11-12/94-1/95, p.154
"...The New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra genuinely recreates the sound you might have heard in any vaudeville house in the country during the early years of this century....This is an exceptionally soothing disc, a visit with old friends who have lost none of their vigor..."


  • 1.Creole Belles
  • 2.Black and White Rag
  • 3.Purple Rose of Cairo
  • 4.War Cloud
  • 5.Maple Leaf Rag
  • 6.High Society
  • 7.The Entertainer
  • 8.The Ragtime Dance
  • 9.New Orleans Hop Scop Blues
  • 10.My Maryland
  • 11.The Chrysanthemum
  • 12.Panama
  • 13.Wall Street Rag
  • 14.Love Will Find a Way
  • 15.Rubber Plant Rag
  • 16.You Can Have It (I Don't Want It)
  • 17.Tickled to Death
  • 18.The Junk Man Rag
  • 19.Winin' Boy Blues
  • 20.St. Louis Tickle
  • 21.Hindustan
  • 22.Ethiopia
  • 23.Red Pepper
  • 24.Pickles and Peppers

Product Description:

The New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra: Lars Edegran (piano, banjo, guitar, conductor), Lionel Ferbos (trumpet, vocals), Paul Crawford (trombone), Orange Kellin (clarinet), William Russell (violin), Richard Payne (bass, tuba), Frank Fields (bass), John Robichaux (drums, vocals).
Producers: Chris Strachwitz, Lars Edegran, Bob Erdos.
Engineers: Cosimo, David Farrell, Steve Himelfarb.
Recorded in New Orleans, Louisiana on May 17 & 19, 1971 and at Southlake Recording Studios, New Orleans, Louisiana on February 7, 1988 and November 24, 1989. Includes liner notes by Lars Edegran, William Russell, and William Schafer.
Personnel: Lionel Ferbos (vocals, trumpet); John Robichaux (vocals, drums); Lars Edegran (guitar, banjo, piano); Bill Russell (violin); Orange Kellin (clarinet); Paul Crawford (trombone); Richard Payne (tuba).
Liner Note Authors: William J. Schafer; Lars Edegran.
Recording information: Deep South Studios, Baton Rouge, LA (05/17/1971-11/24/1989); New Orleans, LA (05/17/1971-11/24/1989); Southlake Recording Studios, New Orleans, LA (05/17/1971-11/24/1989).
Photographer: Hans Lychou.
Arranger: Lars Edegran.
Norwegian transplant Lars Edegran formed the New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra in 1967 to preserve some of the New Orleans music that he loved. The band has been going strong ever since, playing gigs from the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival to the Satchmo Summer Fest. They specialize in ragtime music, of course, as well as waltzes, cakewalks, blues, and marches, such as one might hear at the refined Creole balls of the era. The beautiful women in attendance inspired the song that became the title cut here (half of which was recorded in the early '70s and half in the late '80s), and it captures the exuberant and elegant spirit of that bygone era. The album features many Scott Joplin compositions, both well-known and obscure, such as "Maple Leaf Rag," "The Entertainer," "The Ragtime Dance," "The Wall Street Rag," and "The Chrysanthemum." There are contributions from Jelly Roll Morton, George Lewis, and Nick LaRocca, among others. All the tunes are lovingly rendered by an all-star cast of musicians, including Lionel Ferbos on trumpet and vocals, Orange Kellin on clarinet, Paul Crawford on trombone, Frank Fields on bass, William Russell on violin, Richard Payne on bass and tuba, John Robichaux on drums and vocals, and bandleader Edegran on banjo, guitar, and piano. They swing in the old-time way on a host of memorable tunes, including the beautiful "Purple Rose of Cairo," "Panama," "Love Will Find a Way," "The Rubber Plant Rag," and "Red Pepper." It was a glorious era, and the New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra will take you there. You will not be disappointed. ~ Rose of Sharon Witmer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297042021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)