Clark Terry Live on Qe2

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.5
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CSO 365

CD Details

  • Released: August 14, 2001
  • Label: Chiaroscuro Records


  • 1.Opus Ocean
  • 2.The Nearness of You
  • 3.East of the Sun (And West of the Moon) - (featuring Etta Jones)
  • 4.Etta's Fine & Mellow Blues - (featuring Etta Jones)
  • 5.The Snapper
  • 6.Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me) - (featuring Vanessa Rubin)
  • 7.Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  • 8.Everyday I Have the Blues - (featuring Carrie Smith)
  • 9.Coffee Grinder Blues / Empty Bed Blues - (featuring Carrie Smith)
  • 10.The Hymn
  • 11.Shirley's Intro
  • 12.But Beautiful - (featuring Shirley Horn)
  • 13.The Theme

Product Description:

Personnel: Clark Terry (trumpet, flugelhorn); Shirley Horn (vocals, piano); Vanessa Rubin, Etta James, Carrie Smith (vocals); David Glasser (alto saxophone); Don Friedman (piano); Marcus McLaurine (bass); Sylvia Cuenca (drums).
Recorded live aboard the Queen Elizabeth 2 in November 1999.
Flugelhornist Clark Terry, who was nearly 79 at the time of this live recording, was still in fine form; in fact, in remarkably good shape considering his age and his instrument. Terry and his regular band of the period (with altoist David Glasser, pianist Don Friedman, bassist Marcus McLaurine, and drummer Sylvia Cuenca) are joined on a number or two apiece by vocalists Shirley Horn ("But Beautiful"), Etta Jones ("East of the Sun"), Vanessa Rubin, and Carrie Smith, but it is the instrumentals (which include Terry's "Opus Ocean," "The Nearness of You," "The Snapper," and "Is It True What They Say About Dixie") that are most memorable. As is typical of a Clark Terry set, the results are joyful, often humorous, and swinging. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Clark Terry

Product Info:

  • UPC: 091454036523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item