Bobby Rydell Salutes the Great Ones / At the Copa

Salutes the Great Ones / At the Copa
12 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JKCD 3964
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1961
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Description by

These two 1961 albums -- presented here in their original stereo mixes -- represented an effort by Bobby to move beyond the limitations of his teen idol persona. By recording a live album at the Copa, Bobby was following a well-trodden trail left by other pop male vocalists like Bobby Darin and Paul Anka, and "The Great Ones" in the title of the first record refers to the songs from The Great American Songbook that he covers on the album.

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.86
3 stars out of 5 -- "[It] does include a minor gem with 'Don't Be Afraid (To Fall In Love)', which floats gently on a muted recurring melodic riff."


  • 1.Mammy
  • 2.That Old Black Magic
  • 3.All Of You
  • 4.Frenesi
  • 5.April Showers
  • 6.Everything's Coming Up Roses
  • 7.There's A Rainbow 'Round My Shoulder
  • 8.This Could Be The Start Of Something Big
  • 9.So Rare
  • 10.Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  • 11.The Birth Of The Blues
  • 12.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 13.A Lot Of Living To Do
  • 14.Sway
  • 15.That Old Black Magic
  • 16.They Don't Write 'Em Like That Anymore
  • 17.Medley: The Music Goes 'Round and Round'/Mairzy Doats / Hut Sut Song / Open the Door Richard / Caldonia / Aba Daba Honeymoon / Three Little Fishes / Flat Foot Floogie (with a Floy Floy)/Wild One / Swingin' School / Kissin' Time / We Got Love / Volare
  • 18.Homesick That's All
  • 19.Old Man River
  • 20.Don't Be Afraid (To Fall In Love)
  • 21.Mammy
  • 22.Bless Them All / Bill Bailey

Product Description:

Personnel: Ray Deeley (drums).
Liner Note Authors: James Ritz; Al Cahn; Stuart Smith.
Recording information: Bell Sound, NY (07/04/1961); The Copacabana (07/04/1961); Bell Sound, NY (11/1960-01/1961); The Copacabana (11/1960-01/1961).
Arrangers: Dave Appell; Joe Zito.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Rydell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 83,342
  • UPC: 617742211122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)