Chris Montez Call Me: The A&M Years

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
13 ratings
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UNUK 9833600

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 31, 2006
  • Label: Universal Uk


  • 1.Call Me
  • 2.More I See You
  • 3.Foolin Around
  • 4.Very Thought of You
  • 5.Time After Time
  • 6.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 7.Where Are You Now
  • 8.Because of You
  • 9.Face I Love
  • 10.Our Day Will Come
  • 11.Going Out of My Head
  • 12.Elena
  • 13.Shadow of Your Smile
  • 14.Once I Loved (O Amor em Paz)
  • 15.Fly Me to the Moon
  • 16.Keep Talkin
  • 17.Love Is Here to Stay
  • 18.Little White Lies
  • 19.Just Friends
  • 20.I Will Wait For You
  • 21.I'm Glad There Is You (In This World of Ordinary People)
  • 22.End of a Love Affair

Product Description:

Chris Montez started out in the early '60s as a Ritchie Valens-influenced, fairly gritty rock & roller. But upon signing with A&M in the mid-'60s, he changed to a much smoother style that crossed easy listening pop, bossa nova, and the lightest of pop/rock touches. This 22-track compilation focuses on his 1966-1968 recordings for the label, which did bring him a fair amount of pop success, a far cry though they were from the days of his raucous 1962 smash "Let's Dance." All four of his 1966 Top 40 hits are here ("Call Me," "The More I See You," "There Will Never Be Another You," and "Time After Time"), as well as many other tracks that emphasize his almost womanishly high vocals and a loungey mid-tempo groove. There are, perhaps, too many standards filling out the CD, and too many bossa nova-easy listening blends; if you're going to hear that stuff, you're much better off with an actual Brazilian singer who made it their main dish, like Astrud Gilberto. Still, as easy listening '60s pop goes, this is for the most part good and likable, by virtue both of Montez's engagingly shy voice and the deftly loping arrangements, which can't help but bring to mind indolent semi-tropical afternoons spent lounging around the jet set. All-Time Greatest Hits, which spans Montez's entire '60s work, is still the best compilation for those who want just one CD of his material (and want to hear his rockin' side as well as his crooning one). But Call Me: The A&M Years is recommended for those who want a more in-depth helping of his softer side. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 13 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 4.5 Cool ... Very Cool Music Lover: from Huntsville, TX US -- February, 27, 2008

This is a very listenable CD from beginning to end. Montez showed a great deal of maturity, together with a unique style. This was quite a departure from his smash "Let's Dance." It is jazzy and very cool music.

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Chris Montez

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 90,415
  • UPC: 602498336007
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item