Kiki Dee Love Makes the World Go Round: The Motown Collection

Love Makes the World Go Round: The Motown
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HGY4
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 2005
  • Label: Universal Uk


  • 1.Day Will Come Between Sunday & Monday (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 2.Johnny Rave (Taken From Original Motown Release Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 3.Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 4.Jimmy (Taken From Original Motown Release Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 5.I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 6.More Today Than Yesterday (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 7.Oh Be My Love (Taken From Original Motown Release Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 8.Love Makes The World Go Round (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 9.You Don't Have To Say You Love Me (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 10.Love Is A Warm Kind Of Sorrow (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 11.For Once In My Life (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 12.My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me) (Taken From Great Expectations) - (studio)
  • 13.I Second That Emotion (Taken From Original Release "Kiki Dee") - (studio)
  • 14.I'll Try Something New (Taken From Original Release "Kiki Dee") - (studio)
  • 15.Walk On By (previously unreleased) - (studio)
  • 16.Mr Loneliness (previously unreleased) - (studio)
  • 17.I'll Have You You'll Have Me (previously unreleased) - (studio)
  • 18.Put A Little Love In Your Heart (previously unreleased) - (studio)

Product Description:

This compilation of music sung by Motown artist Kiki Dee contains 18 remastered songs, including "Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing" and "Love Makes the World Go Round," and a booklet with extensive liner notes and an interview with the artist.
This 18-track compilation includes everything from Kiki Dee's early-'70s Motown album Great Expectations, as well as two additional tracks from her time with the label that surfaced on the rare budget Kiki Dee album in the mid-'70s, along with four previously unreleased 1969-1970 outtakes. While it's good to have this fairly rare material thoughtfully combined into one package, it reinforces the sense that neither Motown nor Dee realized the potential from their unusual association. Part of the problem is that there are too many undistinguished cover versions that can't help but suffer in comparison with the classic hit interpretations -- not only of songs made famous by fellow Motown artists like Stevie Wonder and the Miracles, but also hits by Dionne Warwick, Jackie DeShannon, Dusty Springfield, and Deon Jackson. Also, however, Dee's voice just isn't as powerful or imbued with character as those of Motown's top talents, and there's sometimes a sense of listening to an understudy for Dusty Springfield, albeit a competent one. So it's more pleasant than it is essential, though it's certainly pleasing enough if you're looking for enjoyable generic examples of the late-'60s Motown sound, albeit with a white British singer rather than a black Detroit one. Occasionally, too, she gets a chance to sink her teeth into some more satisfyingly adventurous material, like the luscious "Oh Be My Love" (co-written by Smokey Robinson) and the uncommonly stark (for Motown) ballad "Jimmy." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Did better, later! Music Lover: from SANTA CLARITA, CA US -- June, 9, 2017

Sometimes, it takes awhile for an artist to find their way. And receive sympathetic production! It isn't necessarily the label, although it can be. For example, Meatloaf had an excellent hit with "What You See Is What You Get" as: Stoney and Meatloaf, on the Motown related MoWest. Later, Dee had a big & excellent hit with "I've Got The Music In Me" (which is unusual in that it was a long single) & the #1 duet with Elton John, "Don't Go Breaking My Heart." Let's not forget that, actually, Aretha Franklin was 'a fish out of the water' on her many Columbia sides. This label was still coming out of its Mitch Miller era, and couldn't adapt to a style which was compatible to her great talent. Although Aretha did record something for everyone, many of these sides are excellent - you should listen to them - and R & B / Soul Music Stations supported her, by playing her Columbia single releases.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Kiki Dee

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,977
  • UPC: 602498317952
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)