India.Arie Voyage to India [Special Edition]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
20 copies available
List Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MOT 001427302

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 18, 2010
  • Label: Motown

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/02, p.70
3 stars out of 5 - "...Mellow, meditative songs - a collection of bright acoustic guitars, sumptuous bass lines, earthy midrange singing and lyrics that often have...deep emotions..."
Entertainment Weekly - 9/27/02, p.84
"...Compelling and agreeably upbeat....Arie keeps the music light and flowing..." - Rating: B
Mojo (Publisher) - 11/02, p.114
"...A deliciously subtle infusion of soul, folk, gospel and pop flavours...A richly rewarding album."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Growth
  • 2.Little Things
  • 3.Talk To Her
  • 4.Slow Down
  • 5.The Truth
  • 6.Beautiful Surprise
  • 7.Healing
  • 8.Get It Together
  • 9.Headed In the Right Direction
  • 10.Can I Walk With You
  • 11.The One
  • 12.Complicated Melody
  • 13.Gratitude
  • 14.Good Man
  • 15.God is Real

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Interested
  • 2.Little Things [Bedroom Rockers Remix]
  • 3.Little Things [Corporate's Pop Remix]
  • 4.Butterfly [Remix]
  • 5.When Love Came In
  • 6.Eyes of the Heart (Radio's Song) [Radio Edit]
  • 7.Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On an Open Fire)

Product Description:

Personnel: India Arie (vocals, guitar); Joyce Simpson (vocals); Blue Miller (acoustic guitar); John Willis, Brent Barrett (electric guitar); Paul Morton Jr. (guitar, keyboards, programming, background vocals); Drew Ramsey (guitar, programming); Ricky Quinones (guitar); Dave Davidson (violin); John Catchings (cello); Shannon Sanders (keyboards, percussion, programming, background vocals); Toney Harrel (keyboards); Khari Simmons, Doug Kahan, Avery Johnson, Bryant Russell, Alvin Garrett (bass); Forrest Robinson, Steve Grossman, Donald Wesley Williams II (drums); Terry McMillan (percussion); Kerisha Hicks, Tony Harrington, Laurnea Wilkerson, Paige Marin, Paul Morton (background vocals).
Producers: India Aire, Shannon Sanders, Andrew Ramsey, Blue Miller, Paul Morton Jr.
Recorded at Access Studios and D.A.R.P Studios, Atlanta, Georgia, Electric Lady Studios, New York, New York, Drew's Groove and Music Mill Studio, Nashville, Tennesee.
VOYAGE TO INDIA won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best R&B Album.
"Little Things" won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Urban/Alternative Performance.
"Christmas Song" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals.
Recording information: Access Studios, Atlanta, GA; Blueman, Franklin, TN; D.A.R.P. Studios, Atlanta; Drew's Groove, Nashville; Electric Lady Studios, New York; Music Mill Studio, Nashville, TN.
Photographer: Norman Jean Roy.
Neo-soul diva India Aria gracefully ducks any fears of a sophomore jinx with VOYAGE TO INDIA. Her now-signature approach of up-front vocals and simple instrumental arrangements sparkles with organic sincerity. Opening prelude "Growth" reprises as an interlude with "Healing" and resolves as "Gratitude." VOYAGE TO INDIA shouldn't be misconstrued as a concept album, but there is clearly an underlying lyrical theme; the transcendence of love.
"Talk To Her" finds India offering men sound advice on giving women their due, while "Can I Walk With You" celebrates the joy of love and true friendship, defining the balance of a good relationship. "Complicated Melody" depicts a woman torn between the things about the man she loves that annoy her and those that move her. The standout narrative track "Good Man" leaves room for mystery (as to why this woman's husband is no longer in her life), without undermining resolve. VOYAGE TO INDIA is an elegant, very contemporary testimonial to feminine pride and empowerment.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for India.Arie

Product Info:

  • UPC: 602527385624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items