Sonny Rollins Original Album Classics (Sonny Meets Hawk / Our Man in Jazz / What's New / Now's the Time / The Standard Sonny Rollins) (5-CD)

Original Album Classics (Sonny Meets Hawk / Our
3 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  Y6EH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Masterworks

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Yesterdays
  • 2.All the Things You Are
  • 3.Summertime
  • 4.Just Friends
  • 5.Lover Man
  • 6.At McKie's

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Oleo
  • 2.Dearly Beloved
  • 3.Doxy
  • 4.You Are My Lucky Star
  • 5.I Could Write a Book
  • 6.There Will Never Be Another You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.If Ever I Would Leave You
  • 2.Jungoso
  • 3.Bluesongo
  • 4.The Night Has a Thousand Eyes
  • 5.Brown Skin Girl

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Now's the Time
  • 2.Blue 'N' Boogie
  • 3.I Remember Clifford
  • 4.52nd Street Theme
  • 5.St. Thomas
  • 6.'Round Midnight
  • 7.Afternoon In Paris
  • 8.Four [1991 Remastered]

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Autumn Nocturne
  • 2.Night and Day
  • 3.Love Letters
  • 4.My One and Only Love
  • 5.Three Little Words
  • 6.Trav'lin Light
  • 7.I'll Be Seeing You
  • 8.My Ship
  • 9.It Could Happen To You
  • 10.Long Ago and Far Away [2000 Remastered]
  • 11.Winter Wonderland
  • 12.When You Wish Upon a Star
  • 13.Trav'lin Light [2000 Remastered Alternate Take] - (take, alternate take)

Product Description:

Recording information: RCA Victor Studio B, New York, NY; The Village Gate, Greenwich Village, New York, NY.
The Sonny Rollins entry in the German Sony/RCA Victor Original Album Classics series contains the five albums he recorded for RCA between 1962-1964. They are individually packaged in a single box, with replicas of the original artwork. The albums contained here are from the very productive period after Rollins emerging from his second "retirement" phase -- in a career fraught with them. First up is the true gem in the bunch, The Bridge -- so named for the period Rollins simply practiced his horn at night on the Brooklyn Bridge. This is, without question, more than a catalog entry for the great saxophone colossus; it is a defining moment of a period in his six-decade career. Other titles in this box include Our Man in Jazz, What's New? (which includes the first version of his "Don't Stop the Carnival"), Sonny Meets Hawk (with Coleman Hawkins), and The Standard Sonny Rollins. All of these recordings are solid, but there is more than a chance that Rollins fans already have all of them. The sound on these is marginally better than their domestic counterparts, and the price for this collection is very reasonable. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sonny Rollins

Product Info

  • UPC: 886976998325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)