Lloyd Cole Rattlesnakes [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Rattlesnakes [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $35.67 Limited Time Only
List Price: $39.99
You Save: $4.32 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y6DV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.132
4 stars out of 5 - "RATTLESNAKES has a rare sumptuousness....[It] remains a delirious swagbag, ripe for reappraisal."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.126
4 stars out of 5 - "Anne Dudley's string arrangements made all the difference between a good indie album and a timeless pop album..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/25/93, p.19
Ranked #33 in NME's list of The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s.


  • Buy for $0.991.Perfect Skin
  • Buy for $0.992.Speedboat
  • Buy for $0.993.Rattlesnakes
  • Buy for $0.994.Down On Mission Street
  • Buy for $0.995.Forest Fire (Extended Version)
  • Buy for $0.996.Charlotte Street
  • Buy for $0.997.2CV
  • Buy for $0.998.Four Flights Up
  • Buy for $0.999.Patience
  • Buy for $0.9910.Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken?
  • 11.Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken - Demo
  • 12.Perfect Skin - Demo
  • 13.Glory - Live At Nightmoves 1984
  • 14.Beautiful City - Live At The Marquee 1984
  • 15.Charlotte Street - Live At The Marquee 1984
  • 16.Sweetness - Live At The Barrowlands 1985
  • 17.2cv - Live At The Barrowlands 1985
  • 18.Patience - Saturday Live - BBC Radio 1 Session 1984
  • 19.Forest Fire - Richard Skinner Session - BBC Radio 1 Session 1984
  • 20.Speedboat - Richard Skinner Session - BBC Radio 1 Session 1984
  • 21.Rattlesnakes - Richard Skinner Session - BBC Radio 1 Session 1984
  • 22.Sea & The Sand, The (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 23.You Will Never Be No Good (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 24.Andy's Babies (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 25.Glory (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 26.Sweetness (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 27.Beautiful City (Rattlesnakes Recording) (B-Sides & Outtakes)
  • 28.Jesus Said (B-Sides & Outtakes)

Product Description:

Lloyd Cole & The Commotions: Lloyd Cole (vocals, guitar); Neil Clark (guitar); Blair Cowan (keyboards); Lawrence Donegan (bass); Stephen Irvine (drums, tambourine).
Arguably one of the finest British pop albums of the '80s, 1984's RATTLESNAKES is the brilliant debut of one of the finest singer-songwriters of the decade. Coming right at a point when synth-pop's domination of the UK charts was ending and a new breed of guitar-based pop bands led by the Smiths and Aztec Camera were the new British wave, RATTLESNAKES had the force of a major new work, and still holds up better than most of its contemporaries.
Cole's literate--at times self-consciously so--lyrics, and chiming, folk-rocky tunes are outstanding, and his terrific voice and lead guitarist Neil Clark's exceptional instrumental work put over the songs brilliantly. Fully half of these songs, including the Dylanesque "Perfect Skin" and the moody, romantic "Forest Fire," with Clark's remarkable ending solo, are all-time Britpop classics. Cole would do standout work after this, but RATTLESNAKES is simply perfect.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lloyd Cole

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498218204
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)