Cream Disraeli Gears [Rarities Edition]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.7
3 ratings
List Price: $13.98
SALE PRICE: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PORB 14168

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd


  • 1.Strange Brew
  • 2.Sunshine of Your Love
  • 3.World of Pain
  • 4.Dance the Night Away
  • 5.Blue Condition
  • 6.Tales of Brave Ulysses
  • 7.Swlabr
  • 8.We're Going Wrong
  • 9.Outside Woman Blues
  • 10.Take It Back
  • 11.Mother's Lament
  • 12.Lawdy Mama [Version 1]
  • 13.Blue Condition [Alternate Version]
  • 14.We're Going Wrong [Demo Version]
  • 15.Hey Now Princess [Demo Version]
  • 16.Swlabr [Demo Version]
  • 17.Weird of Hermiston [Demo Version]
  • 18.The Clearout [Demo Version]
  • 19.Lawdy Mama [Version 2]
  • 20.Blue Condition [Alernate Version]

Product Description:

Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Jack Bruce (vocals, harmonica, piano, bass guitar); Ginger Baker (vocals, drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Recording information: Atlantic Studios, New York (03/15/1967); Ryemuse Studios, London (03/15/1967); Atlantic Studios, New York (04/03/1967); Ryemuse Studios, London (04/03/1967); Atlantic Studios, New York (04/1967-05/1967); Ryemuse Studios, London (04/1967-05/1967).
Photographers: Chuck Stewart; Don Paulsen.
Arranger: Robert Stigwood.
Cream's first album, 1967's Fresh Cream, was still very much a blues-based affair filtered through rock's emerging power trio format. When the group released Disraeli Gears later that same year, the psychedelic trappings of the new album's lyrics disguised the fact that it was still very much blues-based, and this rarities collection (which consists of the mono mix edition of Disraeli Gears plus a handful of outtakes and demos) makes that point clear. The group took a couple of stabs at a version of "Lawdy Mama" during the Disraeli sessions, and the main riff in the song became the central riff of "Strange Brew," which, lyrics aside, is "Lawdy Mama" dressed up in new clothes. Both versions of "Lawdy Mama" are included here, along with a couple of alternate versions of "Blue Condition." The mono mix of the album brings out the vocals a little more but doesn't differ markedly from the more familiar stereo mix. It's fun to hear the outtakes and alternates, but this set is really for die-hard Cream fans only. Casual listeners should probably just stick with the stereo version of the original album. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Cream

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 42,762
  • UPC: 600753259023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: