Camel The Snow Goose [Bonus Tracks] (Live)

The Snow Goose [Bonus Tracks] (Live)
30 ratings
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V7Y6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 3, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Polygram Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.80
5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he band's magnum opus, with 16 conceptual pieces....Mainly instrumental, atmospheric sweetness and light follows."


  • 1.Great Marsh - (studio)
  • 2.Rhayader - (studio)
  • 3.Rhayader Goes To Town - (studio)
  • 4.Sanctuary - (studio)
  • 5.Fritha - (studio)
  • 6.Snow Goose - (studio)
  • 7.Friendship - (studio)
  • 8.Migration - (studio)
  • 9.Rhayader Alone - (studio)
  • 10.Flight Of The Snow Goose - (studio)
  • 11.Preparation - (studio)
  • 12.Dunkirk - (studio)
  • 13.Epitaph - (studio)
  • 14.Fritha Alone - (studio)
  • 15.Princesse Perdue - (studio)
  • 16.Great Marsh - (studio)
  • 17.Flight Of The Snow Goose (A-Side Of Decca F-R 13581) - (studio)
  • 18.Rhayader (B Side Of Decca F-R 13581) - (studio)
  • 19.Flight Of The Snow Goose (Alternate Single Edit) - (studio)
  • 20.Rhayader Goes To Town (Live At The Marquee Club) - (studio)
  • 21.Snow Goose B) Freefall (Live At The Marquee Club) - (studio)

Product Description:

Loaded with alternated takes, and previously unissued material, and rare live tracks, this reissue of this classic is a must for fans of these prog rockers both old and new. Contains 21 cuts including "Great Marsh," "Sanctuary," "Migration," and "Great Marsh."
Personnel: Andy Latimer (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, flute); Peter Bardens (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, mini-Moog synthesizer); Andy Ward (vibraphone, drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Paschal Byrne.
Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
Recording information: Marquee Club, London, England.
Unknown Contributor Role: Doug Ferguson .
Camel's classic period started with The Snow Goose, an instrumental concept album based on a novella by Paul Gallico. Although there are no lyrics on the album -- two songs feature wordless vocals -- the music follows the emotional arc of the novella's story, which is about a lonely man named Rhayader who helps nurse a wounded snow goose back to health with the help of a young girl called Fritha he recently befriended. Once the goose is healed, it is set free, but Fritha no longer visits the man because the goose is gone. Later, Rhayader is killed in battle during the evacuation of Dunkirk. The goose returned during the battle, and it is then named La Princesse Perdue, symbolizing the hopes that can still survive even during the evils of war. With such a complex fable to tell, it is no surprise that Camel keep their improvisational tendencies reined in, deciding to concentrate on surging, intricate soundscapes that telegraph the emotion of the piece without a single word. And even though The Snow Goose is an instrumental album, it is far more accessible than some of Camel's later work, since it relies on beautiful sonic textures instead of musical experimentation. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 30 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Camel

Product Info

  • UPC: 042288293026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)