Two Siberians Out of Nowhere

Out of Nowhere
6 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $13 (68% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HUP 3096
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Heads Up


  • 1.Outpost Radio
  • 2.Allergic to Gravity
  • 3.Cagey Bee
  • 4.Come With Me Anyway
  • 5.Natasha, Havana
  • 6.Amoroso
  • 7.New Russian
  • 8.Lake Baikal
  • 9.On the Tundra
  • 10.Vodka Diaries
  • 11.And Then, Nika...
  • 12.Indigo Breeze
  • 13.Out of Nowhere
  • 14.Evidence of Things Not Seen
  • 15.Searching For Power

Product Description:

Recording information: Home Studios In Manhattan, Brooklyn, Nyack, Hastings, N; Kampo Cultural Art Center, New York, NY; Sear Sound Studios, New York, NY.
There's an inspiring story behind this album: guitarist Yuri Matveyev and violinist Artyom Yakushenko grew up in the Siberian town of Irkutsk, where they were eventually brought together by their obsession with their instruments and their love of a wide variety of music. Their wildly energetic jazz-folk-rock performances earned them enthusiastic audiences (but not much money) in their native region, so they traveled to New York, where an American fan of theirs was also a music industry figure. Despite a rapturous response from audiences in clubs and on the streets of Manhattan, no record deal was forthcoming, so their American friend sold some of his assets and produced the record himself, recruiting such sidemen as clarinetist Don Byron, saxophonist Michael Brecker, and percussionist Mino Cinelu. This album is the result, and it's a delight. From the klezmer-flavored "And Then, Nika..." to the Latin grooves of "Natasha, Havana" and "Indigo Breeze," and from the spare textures of Matveyev's impressive guitar solo "Cagey Bee" (har, har) to the lush beauty of the title track, this is an album that inspires whether or not you know the story behind it. One or two tracks get just a bit long-winded and overblown, but for the most part the music is tight, original, and strangely hooky. All of it is extremely well played. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 053361309626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)