Barclay James Harvest Octoberon [UK Bonus Tracks]

Octoberon [UK Bonus Tracks]
12 ratings
16 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Y6C8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 2, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Universal I.S.


  • 1.World Goes On - (studio)
  • 2.May Day - (studio)
  • 3.Ra 7:18 - (studio)
  • 4.Rock N Roll Star - (studio)
  • 5.Polk Street Rag - (studio)
  • 6.Believe In Me - (studio)
  • 7.Suicide? - (studio)
  • 8.Rock 'N' Roll Star - (Alternate mix, studio, Bonus Track)
  • 9.Polk Street Rag - (Alternate mix, studio, Bonus Track)
  • 10.Ra - (alternate take, studio, Bonus Track)
  • 11.Rock 'N' Roll Star - (studio, Top Of The Pops Recording, Bonus Track)
  • 12.Suicide? - (Alternate mix, studio, Bonus Track)

Product Description:

This version of Barclay James Harvest's 1976 album OCTOBERON features five tracks not available on the original album.
Personnel: John Lees (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Les Holroyd (vocals, acoustic guitar); Mel Pritchard (drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Paschal Byrne.
Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
Recording information: Marquee Studios, London, England (??/??/1976-03/15/1977); Strawberry Studios, Stockport, England (??/??/1976-03/15/1977).
Arranger: Richie Close.
With Wolstenholme's keyboards pushed back in the mix, and strangely missing the harmonies that enriched their earlier work, Octoberon is something of a departure for the band. While Wolstenholme's stately "Ra" shows a dabbling in mysticism and the soaring sound of their previous work, most of the album is a strangely glum affair. John Lees adopts a pub rock sound in his compositions, although "May Day" manages to veer unexpectedly into a glorious choral and organ arrangement. "Polk Street Rag," despite its name, is a slick rocker about a sordid X-rated movie house in San Francisco. There's a black humor throughout, as in this brutally funny line from "Suicide?": "Heard a voice shouting 'Don't jump, please for God's sake let me move my car.'" Not up to the level of their best work, but worth a listen for fans. ~ Paul Collins

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Barclay James Harvest

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 121,059
  • UPC: 044006539928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)