Gerald Veasley Velvet

4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $13 (68% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HUP 3072
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Heads Up

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 8/03, p.134
"Take the best of '70s R&B and funk and filter it through a contemporary sensibility and you have Gerald Veasley's VELVET..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Coup DeVille
  • Buy for $1.292.Sarah's Song
  • Buy for $1.293.Let's Do It Again
  • Buy for $0.994.Velvet
  • Buy for $0.995.Put on Your Sunday Clothes
  • Buy for $0.996.Do You Remember?
  • Buy for $0.997.Luscious
  • Buy for $0.998.Summer Kiss
  • Buy for $0.999.Bread Puddin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.Forever
  • Buy for $0.9911.It's Alright (Tonigth's the Night)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Still Movin' On
  • Buy for $0.9913.Home
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sunday Clothes - (Reprise)

Product Description:

This is hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio players.
Personnel includes: Gerald Veasley (guitar, 6-string bass); Chris Farr (soprano & tenor saxophones, string synthesizer, bass synthesizer); Will Brock (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer piano, keyboards, bass synthesizer); Mark Knox (keyboards, string synthesizer); Richard Waller III (drums percussion).
Recorded at Maja Audio Group, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
On Velvet, bass player extraordinaire Gerald Veasley is as smooth as the title of his sixth solo effort for the Heads Up label implies. After one listen, his audience will know that the soul he plays is legendary. Veasley blends a richly textured mix of urban funk, the Philly sound, and his unique bass perspectives to give listeners his rendition of the sounds and sensibilities of the neo-soul movement. Eleven new compositions either written or co-written by Gerald Veasley, "Home," and the outstanding cover of Curtis Mayfield's "Let's Do It Again" make a resounding statement about the rich tradition of soul, rhythm & blues, gospel, and funk that continues to endear generation after generation of music lovers to their very essence. Songs such as "Coup de Ville," "Velvet," "Summer Kiss," and "It's Alright (Tonight's the Night)" conjure up the perfect snapshot of Veasley's musical mindset, which was obviously inspired by real-life visuals. Even though Gerald Veasley is still in tune with the fan appreciation garnered by his previous releases, he has noticeably stepped away from the bass riffs and voicing used on many of them, especially those heard during his time with Grover Washington, Jr.. However, his dynamic six-string bass guitar work still allows ample room and space for the very vivid improvisations contributed by his accompanists. Nearly 15 guest musicians add their impressions and memorable moments to this great musical set that Gerald Veasley has filled with tender human emotion, matchless funk, and memorable entertainment experiences. ~ Paula Edelstein

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gerald Veasley

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,269
  • UPC: 053361307226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Funk Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)