Jesse Colin Young American Dreams

American Dreams
19% OFF
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $13.98
Sale Price: $12.58
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.35 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.63 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  GQ8D
on most orders of $50
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 26, 2010
  • Originally Released: 1978
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records


  • 1.Rave On
  • 2.Slow and Easy
  • 3.Maui Sunrise
  • 4.Reveal Your Dreams
  • 5.Knock on Wood
  • 6.American Dreams Suite: City Boy
  • 7.American Dreams Suite: Music in the Streets
  • 8.American Dreams Suite: Can We Carry on the Dream
  • 9.American Dreams Suite: Sanctuary
  • 10.American Dreams Suite: What If We Stay

Product Description:

Personnel: Jesse Colin Young (vocals, guitar); Jim Rothermel (flute, clarinet, saxophone); Scott Lawrence (keyboards); Jeff Myer (drums, percussion).
Photographers: Jesse Young; Suzi Young.
Arrangers: Jesse Colin Young; Jeff Labes.
Jesse Colin Young always provided a portrait of his personal viewpoint and a reflection on the overall state of things on his albums, and American Dreams was his musical statement circa the late '70s, which meant that several of its songs were set to a disco beat, and Young's listeners were alerted that he had moved to Hawaii. The album's second side purported to be an ambitious musical piece, the 17«-minute "American Dreams Suite," but turned out to be a series of song fragments conflating Young's musical autobiography ("City Boy") with a mini-history of recent times including the optimism of the '60s ("Music in the Streets"), the uncertainty of the '70s ("Can We Carry on the Dream"), and such contemporary political issues as the fight against nuclear power ("Sanctuary"), ending with an appeal to responsibility ("What If We Stay"). Doubtless it was all sincerely intended, but Young lacked the writing and performing talent to sustain such a large work, and it came off as a group of engaging and earnest, if vague, songs. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Jesse Colin Young

Product Info:

  • UPC: 664140015722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item