Richard Thompson Dream Attic

Dream Attic
26 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y6J5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Richard Thompson ~ Electric ~ $15.28

CD Details

  • Released: August 31, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he frantic murder ballad 'Sidney Wells' scorches like an arsonist."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A]n album that flies at you with a velocity that fully vindicates the decision to record it live..."
Paste (magazine) - "Thompson unleashes some of the most visceral guitar solos of his career, and DREAM ATTIC stands beside the best efforts in his catalog."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "[DREAM ATTIC] finds him backed by a full electric band and debuting the songs in front of audiences on a brief US tour earlier this year..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "All these tracks show a man who is unafraid to engage with his own shadow...DREAM ATTIC has a brio that matches any of Thompson's past few studio albums."
Uncut (magazine) - p.35
Ranked #31 in Uncut's "The 50 Best Albums of 2010" -- "[W]ith a virtuosity that sharpened rather than smothered his ire."


  • 1.The Money Shuffle
  • 2.Among the Gorse, Among the Grey
  • 3.Haul Me Up
  • 4.Burning Man
  • 5.Here Comes Geordie
  • 6.Demons in Her Dancing Shoes
  • 7.Crimescene
  • 8.Big Sun Falling in the River
  • 9.Stumble On
  • 10.Sidney Wells
  • 11.A Brother Slips Away
  • 12.Bad Again
  • 13.If Love Whispers Your Name

Product Description:

Personnel: Richard Thompson (vocals, guitar, electric guitar); Pete Zorn (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Joel Zifkin (vocals, mandolin, electric violin); Michael Jermoe, Michael Jerome (vocals, drums); Taras Prodaniuk (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Simon Tassano.
Editor: Simon Tassano.
Photographers: Drew Reynolds ; Annaliese Moyer; Valerie Shoaps.
Richard Thompson has been making good to brilliant albums since Fairport Convention cut their debut in 1967, but anyone who knows his music well can tell you he's also a masterful live performer whose music takes on a greater sense of color and relief whenever he performs in front of an audience. Having released a number of limited-run live discs through his website, Thompson seems to be keenly aware his fans like hearing his live work documented for the ages, and with Dream Attic he's moved to the next logical step of recording an album of new material in concert. Dream Attic documents a run of seven shows Thompson played on the West Coast in February 2010; he and his band played a 13-song set of new songs each evening, along with a second set of fan favorites not included on this disc. Since this album was pieced together from a number of different concerts, it doesn't always capture the ebb and flow of one single show, and while some songs end with hearty applause, others are sliced off before the fans can start cheering, which makes for disorienting listening, sometimes reminding the listener this is a live album and sometimes easing away from it. But Thompson and his band clearly feed off the energy and enthusiasm of a live audience, and Dream Attic captures them sounding capable, confident, and eager to show the crowd what they can do. The recording strategy works best on the songs where the band rocks out (like the anti-Wall Street screed "The Money Shuffle," the plea for survival in "Haul Me Up" or the modern-day murder ballad "Sidney Wells"), while a few of the quieter numbers sound like they might have fared better within the intimate confines of the studio, such as "Among The Gorse, Among The Grey" and "A Brother Slips Away" (though the satiric "Burning Man" and the haunting "Crimescene" work very well indeed). Nevertheless, Thompson's vocals and guitar work are superb throughout, with his soloing near the top of his game, and his band (Pete Zorn on guitar and sax, Joel Zifkin on violin and mandolin, Taras Prodaniuk on bass and Michael Jerome on drums) are tight and intuitive, knowing what to make of the songs and giving their leader all the muscle and smarts he needs. Like most live albums, Dream Attic is more about the playing than the material, which is a bit different from the way a new Richard Thompson set works, but when it captures a band this good playing with this authority, that's hardly anything to fret about. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Richard Thompson

Product Info

  • UPC: 826663121124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)