Herb Ellis The Midnight Roll

The Midnight Roll
13 copies available
Price: $3.58
List Price: $3.98
You Save: $0.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HQ4V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 2009
  • Originally Released: 1962
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records


  • 1.Broadway
  • 2.Gravy Waltz
  • 3.Poor Darlin' Nellie
  • 4.Old Folks
  • 5.Roy Showed
  • 6.Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  • 7.Willow Weep For Me
  • 8.Symphony
  • 9.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 10.It Don't Mean A Thing

Product Description:

Personnel: Herb Ellis (guitar); Buddy Tate (tenor saxophone); Frank Assunto, Roy Eldridge (trumpet); Ray Bryant (piano); Israel Crosby, Jimmy Rowser (bass instrument); Gus Johnson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Leonard Feather.
Recording information: 06/12/1962-06/14/1962.
Herb Ellis is known primarily for playing with small ensembles, so this recording as part of an octet is a departure for the great guitarist. This "all-star" combo includes trumpeter Roy Eldridge in a sublimated role, while tenor saxophonist Buddy Tate is featured a bit more, and pianist Ray Bryant solidifies the nucleus of a very talented band of old pros and unsung heroes. The fare is split between standards, originals, and favorites, including Duke Ellington's rousing "It Don't Mean a Thing" with the jamming Eldridge leading the charge. The classic "Gravy Waltz" of Ray Brown is done here, as Bryant's deft chords with the sax and trumpets form a strolling, impenetrable front line -- one of the very best, fully formed and realized versions of this great song. Ellis contributed the folkish "Poor Darlin' Nellie," derived from the story of banished African-American slave Nellie Gray, a light rural swing with no horns save Assunto's muted trumpet solo. "Roy Showed" is a bouncy bop blues punctuated by Tate's tenor as Ellis further accents with sharp strumming chords. Everybody plays together in sweet agreement on "Broadway," a stock jam tune that shows the band has no issues with grandstanding, egos, or finding enough space to play. The band strips down to a trio on the pristine ballad "Willow Weep for Me" and Tate presents a spare, spacious melody line during "It Makes No Difference Now." The balance of this group should duly receive high marks (especially since it was a one-shot).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Herb Ellis

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 26,892
  • UPC: 664140703421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)