Marc Almond Treasure Box (2-CD)

Treasure Box (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y74D
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 22, 2002
  • Label: Caroline

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/95, p.128
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Against all the odds, Almond has carved out a respectably comfortable niche for himself as everyone's favourite, modern day torch singer..."


  • 1.City Of Nights - (studio)
  • 2.Waifs & Strays (The Grid Mix) - (studio)
  • 3.King Of The Fools - (studio)
  • 4.Libertine's Dream - (studio)
  • 5.Only The Moment (All The Time In The World Mix) - (studio)
  • 6.Gambler - (studio)
  • 7.Tears Run Rings (La Magia Dance Mix) - (studio)
  • 8.Everything I Wanted Love To Be - (studio)
  • 9.Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart - (studio)
  • 10.Bittersweet (The Big Beat Mix) - (studio)
  • 11.Frost Comes Tomorrow - (studio)
  • 12.She Took My Soul In Istanbul (Blue Mosque Mix) - (studio)
  • 13.Stars We Are (Full Length Mix) - (studio)
  • 14.Lover Spurned (12" Version) - (studio)
  • 15.Real Evil - (studio)
  • 16.Exotica Rose - (studio)
  • 17.Desperate Hours (Extended Flamenco Mix) - (studio)
  • 18.Old Jack's Charm - (studio)
  • 19.These My Dreams Are Yours (Through The Night Mix) - (studio)
  • 20.Sea Stil Sings (Demo Version) - (studio)
  • 21.Madame De La Luna (Demo Version) - (studio)
  • 22.Death's Diary (Demo Version) - (studio)
  • 23.Toreador In The Rain (Demo Version) - (studio)
  • 24.Orpheus In Red Velvet (Demo Version) - (studio)
  • 25.Sensualist (Ultimate Ecstacy Mix) - (studio)

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Marc Almond.
TREASURE BOX is a collection of rarities by singer Marc Almond, the man best known for his work with the new wave act Soft Cell.
The digitally remastered edition comes with new sleevenotes and packaging.
Audio Mixers: Dave Pine; Bob Kaushaar; Steve Reece; Tristram Penna; Spike Drake.
Audio Remixers: Bob Kaushaar; Richard Norris.
Arranger: Bob Kaushaar.
As Virgin did with the many B-sides and rarities from Almond's days with them, so too did EMI some years later, compiling an intriguing variety of tracks -- 25 all told -- for the ease of shopping by the hardcore Almond fan. Unlike the frequently brilliant Virgin's Tale collections, however, this two-disc compilation sounds far more scattershot for two reasons. First, the increasing commercial sheen of Almond's work during this time rendered a fair amount of the songs far less musically intriguing than they should be. Second, nearly half the collection consists of various dance remixes -- some good enough (one of which by his old Soft Cell partner Dave Ball), but most fairly unnecessary or adding little. Still, this being Almond, there are some welcome tracks, including the sweet and soaring "Libertine's Dream" and the tale of a married transvestite stripper, "Exotica Rose," imbued with the swinging cabaret feel of his late-'80s work. Intriguingly, no less than five of Enchanted's ten tracks appear here in demo form, as much a tacit acknowledgment that the overproduced final versions weren't as good as they could be as curiosities in and of themselves. ~ Ned Raggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Marc Almond

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353891527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)