Little Richard The Formative Years 1951-53

The Formative Years 1951-53
19% OFF
Rating 4.7
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $33.99
Sale Price: $30.59
CYBER SALE: $27.53 Limited Time Only
You Save: $6.46 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  IMT 15448_
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 1989
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Get Rich Quick
  • 2.Why Did You Leave Me
  • 3.Taxi Blues
  • 4.Every Hour
  • 5.I Brought It All On Myself
  • 6.Thinkin' 'Bout My Mother
  • 7.Ain't Nothin' Happenin'
  • 8.Please Have Mercy On Me
  • 9.Get Rich Quick - (alternate take)
  • 10.Thinkin' 'Bout My Mother - (take A)
  • 11.I Brought It All On Myself - (take C)
  • 12.Please Have Mercy On Me - (take A)
  • 13.Little Richard Boogie
  • 14.Directly From My Heart
  • 15.I Love My Baby
  • 16.Maybe I'm Right
  • 17.Ain't That Good News
  • 18.Fool At The Wheel
  • 19.Rice, Red Beans And Turnip Greens
  • 20.Always
  • 21.Directly From My Heart - (alternate take)
  • 22.I Love My Baby - (take 2)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Little Richard (vocals, piano); Wesley Jackson, Eddie Lee Williams, Pete Lewis (guitar); Albert Dobbins, Carlos Bermudaz (alto saxophone); Fred Jackson (tenor saxophone); J. Hudson (baritone saxophone); Raymond Taylor (trumpet, trombone, piano, organ); Willie Mays, Don Johnson (trumpet); Willie Wilson, George Washington (trombone); J. Wimby, Devonia Williams (piano); Johnny Otis (vibraphone); George Holloway, Jr., Albert Winston (bass); Donald J. Clark, Mildred Taylor, Leard "Kansas City" Bell (drums); Billy Brooks, Barry Lee Gilmore, Jimmy Swann (background vocals).
Producers: Steve Sholes, Don Robey.
Re-issue producer: Richard Weize.
Recorded in Atlanta, Georgia & Houston, Texas between 1951 & 1953. Includes liner notes by Rick Coleman.
These are the earliest recordings of Richard Penniman (aka Little Richard, aka the Georgia Peach, aka the Greatest) and they show an artist still very much, as the title has it, in a formative stage. At this point, Richard was groping toward his own style and the rock and roll to come; at various times here he sounds - eerily - like blues shouter Roy Brown ("Get Rich Quick") or - equally eerily - Fats Domino ("Every Hour," recorded in 1951, before Domino had really developed his own sound). Other highlights include tracks cut for Peacock Records, including "Always," featuring the Tempo Toppers, his hot stage band (with a woman drummer, no less) and the concluding "Little Richard's Boogie," a jump blues that is a pretty clear signpost toward the future.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Little Richard

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 102,693
  • UPC: 790051154486
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre: