Bill Haley & His Comets The Real Birth of Rock N Roll Arrives: 1946-1954 (5-CD)

The Real Birth of Rock N Roll Arrives: 1946-1954
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $179.99
SUPER SAVINGS: $125.54 Limited Time Only
List Price: $199.99
You Save: $74.45 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  Y6WW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: January 13, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Bear Family

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.87
"Turning to swing, boogie-woogie, and R&B for inspiration, Haley began writing his own songs....This is a real collector's item for rock and roll fans..."
No Depression - pp.113-114
"[T]\he remastered sound is breathtaking....This collection reveals his full journey."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.114
4 stars out of 5 -- "The recordings, including some radio shots, are immaculately mastered..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Too Many Parties, Too Many Pals
  • 2.Four Leaf Clover Blues
  • 3.Candy Kisses
  • 4.Tennessee Border
  • 5.The Covered Wagon
  • 6.Rolled Right Along
  • 7.Yodel Your Blues Away
  • 8.Behind the Eight Ball
  • 9.Foolish Questions
  • 10.Loveless Blues
  • 11.Stand up and Be Counted
  • 12.Deal Me a Hand (I Play the Game Anyway)
  • 13.Ten Gallon Stetson (With a Hole in the Crown)
  • 14.Susan Van Dusan
  • 15.I'm Gonna Dry Every Tear With a Kiss
  • 16.Why Do I Cry Over You?
  • 17.Teardrops From My Eyes
  • 18.Loveless Blues
  • 19.My Sweet Little Girl From Nevada
  • 20.My Palomino and I

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rocket '88'
  • 2.Tearstains on My Heart
  • 3.Green Tree Boogie
  • 4.Down Deep in My Heart
  • 5.I'm Crying
  • 6.Pretty Baby
  • 7.A Year Ago This Christmas
  • 8.I Don't Want to Be Alone This Christmas
  • 9.Jukebox Cannonball
  • 10.Sundown Boogie
  • 11.Barnyard Special
  • 12.Rose of My Heart
  • 13.Two Timin' Blues
  • 14.Long Gone Daddy
  • 15.I'm Lonesome
  • 16.A Sweet Bunch of Roses
  • 17.Please Make up Your Fickle Mind
  • 18.My Heart Tells Me (I'm Still in Love With You)
  • 19.I'm Lonesome
  • 20.A Sweet Bunch of Roses
  • 21.Please Make up Your Fickle Mind
  • 22.My Heart Tells Me (I'm Still in Love With You)
  • 23.Out Where the Westwind Blows
  • 24.Who's Gonna Kiss You When I'm Gone
  • 25.Boogie Woogie Yodel
  • 26.Baby, Found Out All About You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Rock the Joint
  • 2.Icy Heart
  • 3.Dance With a Dolly (With a Hole in Her Stocking)
  • 4.Rockin' Chair on the Moon
  • 5.Stop Beatin' Around the Mulberry Bush
  • 6.Real Rock Drive
  • 7.Crazy Man, Crazy
  • 8.What'cha Gonna Do ?
  • 9.Pat - A - Cake
  • 10.Fractured
  • 11.Live It Up
  • 12.Farewell, So Long, Goodbye
  • 13.I'll Be True
  • 14.Ten Little Indians
  • 15.Yes Indeed! Part 1
  • 16.Yes Indeed! Part 2
  • 17.Chattanooga Choo Choo
  • 18.Straightjacket

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Rovin' Eyes
  • 2.Candy and Women
  • 3.My Mom Heard Me Cry Over You
  • 4.Cotton Haired Girl
  • 5.The Wreck on the Highway
  • 6.A Yodeller's Lullaby
  • 7.All I Need Is Some More Lovin'
  • 8.Candy and Women
  • 9.Yodel Your Blues Away
  • 10.Red River Valley
  • 11.Behind the Eight Ball
  • 12.Candy and Women
  • 13.Behind the Eight Ball
  • 14.I Wasted a Nickel Last Night
  • 15.My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  • 16.Rose of My Heart
  • 17.Within This Broken Heart of Mine
  • 18.Down Home
  • 19.Following the Sun
  • 20.She Taught Me How to Yodel
  • 21.Cool Water
  • 22.Baby, I Found Out All About You
  • 23.Open up Them Pearly Gates For Me
  • 24.Who's Gonna Kiss You When I'm Gone ?
  • 25.Arizona Cowboy Advert
  • 26.Westinghouse and Twin Bars Advert

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Candy and Women
  • 2.Foolish Questions
  • 3.Behind the Eight Ball
  • 4.Teardrops From My Eyes
  • 5.Rose of My Heart
  • 6.Rose of My Heart
  • 7.Cherry Tree Lane
  • 8.Cute Little Brown-Eyed Gal
  • 9.A Sweet Bunch of Roses
  • 10.Yodel Your Blues Away
  • 11.Easy Rocking Chair
  • 12.Ages and Ages Ago
  • 13.Honestly
  • 14.I Dreamed of an Old Love Affair
  • 15.Whispering
  • 16.I Love You So Much It Hurts
  • 17.Little Rock, Arkansas
  • 18.A Bundle of Kisses
  • 19.Are You Teasing Me ?
  • 20.I Want You
  • 21.Sunday Down in Tennessee
  • 22.Gotta Have My Baby Back
  • 23.Take Me in Your Arms

Product Description:

It seems amazing that, at some time between 1955 and 2006, no one has ever attempted to do what this five-CD set does -- assemble all of the early Bill Haley sides together in one place. Oh, to be sure, Haley wasn't necessarily the most consistent performer, even at the peak of his career, but he had amassed an astonishing amount of material in the eight years before "Rock Around the Clock" secured his place in history, and while a lot of it was more country than rock & roll, most of it is not bad and a lot of it is amazingly good, as you will discover here. Back in 1948, when he was fronting Bill Haley & the Four Aces of Western Swing, he was making good records -- and when they weren't quite great records, they were never dull. And what you hear, even on relatively derivative numbers like "Tennessee Border," is a tendency to push the beat a little bit, even in the context of Western swing. As far back as that, Haley was showing not only an appreciation of elements of jazz -- as all Western swing did -- but also of boogie-woogie. And every so often in between a ballad he'd slip in an offbeat A-side like "Loveless Blues." This box traces the threads of Haley's development as a musician and stylist across his earliest released sides, mostly for tiny regional labels and by way of acetates unearthed across the decades -- so one can see how he put together the sound that eventually made him famous, piece by piece, as a combination of the quirks of his own taste. Haley may have had a host of personal problems and never fully comprehended everything he'd latched onto as a musician, but he was remarkably consistent as a performer, as revealed here. Going song by song and watching him form new bands with new personnel and new sounds -- the biggest development was getting Billy Williamson on steel guitar for the early Saddlemen -- it doesn't seem like such a jump from "Candy and Woman" to "Rocket 88." In addition to all of Haley's commercial recordings across this eight-year span and the acetates that were intended as demos, listeners also get transcription discs by the various outfits of which he was a member, starting with the Downhomers. The result, when coupled with the extensive essays and annotation in the 100-page hardcover book that comes with this set, is the fullest picture ever presented of the man who was as truly the father of rock & roll as anyone who could ever have claimed the title. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bill Haley & His Comets

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127165091
  • Shipping Weight: 4.11/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)