The DeCastro Sisters Teach Me Tonight

Teach Me Tonight
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  IMT 16381
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.It's Love
  • 2.Boom Boom Boomerang
  • 3.To Say You're Mine
  • 4.The Wedding Song
  • 5.If I Ever Fall in Love
  • 6.I'm Bewildered
  • 7.Teach Me Tonight
  • 8.Give Me Time
  • 9.Too Late Now
  • 10.Cry Baby Blues
  • 11.Let Your Love Walk In
  • 12.Cuckoo in the Clock
  • 13.Cuban Love Song
  • 14.I Can't Escape From You
  • 15.Rockin' and Rollin' in Hawaii
  • 16.No One to Blame But You
  • 17.Cowboys Don't Cry
  • 18.It's Your
  • 19.I Never Meant to Hurt You
  • 20.I Hear a Melody
  • 21.Don't Call Me Sweetie
  • 22.Flowers on the Hillside
  • 23.I Know Plenty
  • 24.Blue and Broken Hearted
  • 25.Where Have You Been My Love
  • 26.That Little Word Called Love
  • 27.Old Time's Tune
  • 28.Biddle Dee Bop
  • 29.What a Relief (Hoop Ah Hoop Ah, Bah Dah Dah)
  • 30.You Take Care of Me (I'll Take Care of You)
  • 31.My Sweetheart Left Me Behind

Product Description:

The DeCastro Sisters: Peggie DeCastro, Cherie DeCastro, Babette DeCastro.
The De Castro Sisters could be mistaken for one-hit wonders since they are remembered primarily for their sexy, solicitous 1954 hit, "Teach Me Tonight." The group actually charted seven singles, but "Boom Boom Boomerang" -- featuring the basso profundo vocals of voice actor and cult favorite Thurl Ravenscroft -- was the only other one to crack the Top 20. Teach Me Tonight compiles 31 Abbott and RCA Victor recordings from 1954-1958 in what would appear to be a nearly complete summary of the group's recorded output during that period, if not for the omission of a charting Christmas single on Abbott. Also omitted are two minor hits the group waxed for ABC-Paramount. Stylistically, the De Castro Sisters were a husky-voiced vocal trio patterned after the Andrews Sisters, with a similar variety of romantic ballads and novelties in their songbook. Toward the late '50s, the group experimented with that era's equivalent of bubblegum music -- bouncy, fluffy pop/rock loaded with nonsense words. Some of these songs are good harmless fun, such as "Biddle-Dee Bop" and "What a Relief (Hoop Ah Hoop Ah, Bah Dah Dah)," but may not be to the liking of listeners hoping for romantic harmonies along the lines of "Teach Me Tonight." The repertoire is uneven, but little surprises await collectors, from a very early Rod McKuen composition ("Flowers on the Hillside") to a pair of previously unreleased recordings. For those whose interest in the De Castro Sisters extends beyond their one big hit, Teach Me Tonight is an excellent-sounding and comprehensive anthology that shows the full range of their abilities. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The DeCastro Sisters

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051638122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)