Tori Amos Tales of a Librarian: A Tori Amos Collection

Tales of a Librarian: A Tori Amos Collection
268 ratings
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  367F4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 18, 2003
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 1/04, p.128
3 stars out of 5 - "Carefully thought-out, it makes a resonant musical diary of Amos's career to date."
Uncut - 1/04, p.120
5 stars out of 5 - "Then, as now, Amos touches raw nerves like no other singer-songwriter."
Mojo (Publisher) - 2/04, p.110
4 stars out of 5 - "[A] fine best of/bonuses record which eschews facsimile retreads....A highly enjoyable game of spot the difference."


  • 1.Precious Things
  • 2.Angels - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Silent All These Years
  • 4.Cornflake Girl
  • 5.Mary - (re-recorded version)
  • 6.God
  • 7.Winter
  • 8.Spark
  • 9.Way Down
  • 10.Professional Widow - (single version)
  • 11.Mr. Zebra
  • 12.Crucify
  • 13.Me And A Gun
  • 14.Bliss
  • 15.Playboy Mommy
  • 16.Baker Baker
  • 17.Tear In Your Hand
  • 18.Sweet Dreams - (re-recorded version)
  • 19.Jackie's Strength
  • 20.Snow Cherries From France - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Includes bonus DVD.
Personnel: Tori Amos (vocals, piano); Steve Caton, Mac Aladdin (guitar, mandolin); Willie Porter (guitar); Al Perkins (pedal steel); John Chamberlain (mandolin); Eric Williams (ukulele); Jef Scott, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Jon Evans, George Porter Jr. (bass); Ed Green, Carlo Nuccio, Matt Chamberlain, Manu Katche (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Eric Rosse, (programming); Nancy Shanks, Tina Gullickson (background vocals).
Producers: Tori Amos, Eric Rosse.
Compilation producers: Tori Amos, Jon Astley.
A fascinating and emotive performer, Tori Amos first entranced listeners in 1992 with her acclaimed solo debut, LITTLE EARTHQUAKES. The intriguing TALES OF A LIBRARIAN collection files songs from that landmark release along with others from the following 11 years.
Clearly--and proudly--influenced by Kate Bush, Amos can indulge in lush, dramatic compositions as on "Precious Things" and "Crucify," but she is also capable of whittling her songs down to spare piano-and-vocal tunes such as "Way Down" and "Baker Baker." Amos shows even further range on this compilation by including the beat-heavy dance remix of "Professional Widow" and noticeably "reconditioned" tracks such as "Crucify" and "God." And, of course, the renowned redhead also sticks to the time-honored two-new-tracks tradition, offering up the dreamy "Angels" and the spry "Snow Cherries from France." In addition, the DVD portion of this release features live performances, remixes, and more for the sure-to-be-pleased Tori enthusiast.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 268 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tori Amos

Product Info

  • UPC: 075678365829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)