Rosie & The Originals Angel Baby Revisited

Angel Baby Revisited
3 ratings
Only 8 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  9S5W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Dedicated to the One I Love - (A Cappella Version)
  • 2.You'll Lose a Good Thing
  • 3.I'm So Proud
  • 4.Maybe I'm Dreaming
  • 5.Read the Story of Love
  • 6.Angel from Above
  • 7.For Love
  • 8.Angel Baby - (Spanish / English Version)
  • 9.Lost Illusions
  • 10.Bamba, La
  • 11.We'll Have a Chance
  • 12.Cloud Nine
  • 13.Baby, Baby, Baby
  • 14.My One and Only Love
  • 15.Kinda Makes You Wonder
  • 16.I Don't Understand
  • 17.Steppin Out in Style
  • 18.Gallery of Dreams
  • 19.Confessin' a Feeling
  • 20.Just Take Your Time
  • 21.I Could Never Miss You (More Than I Do)
  • 22.Angel Baby - (A Cappella Version)
  • 23.Radio Plugs for KJOK, Utah, Arizona (Spoken Word)

Product Description:

Personnel: Rosie "Rosalie" Hamlin (vocals); Brad Pierce (guitar, background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Rob Finnis.
Recording information: The Garage, West Covina, CA.
Arrangers: Dick Jacobs; Gil Morales; Ritchie Valens.
The prior The Best of Rosie & the Originals compilation on Ace had already found it a stretch to gather enough material to pad out a full-length retrospective, relying on numerous previously unissued tracks and flop singles to make up the quota. Angel Baby Revisited, a collection of odds and ends that didn't make it onto the best-of, really scours too deep and wide to come up with yet another disc's worth of material, much of which really doesn't deserve a hearing. This kind of release is for collectors who want everything, though, not more discriminating listeners. Still, even such collectors may be disappointed to find that only eight of these 23 tracks are from Rosie's early-'60s heyday. Six of those vintage numbers are taken from her 1961 Lonely Blue Nights album, and are mediocre, light, early-'60s pop-R&B, though she sings pretty well on these. The other two are from her rare, and similarly unremarkable, 1962 single on Globe. Few details are given about the origins of the remaining selections, all but one of which date from 2000-2001. Rosie sings alright on these modern recordings, but the material is uninspired (whether remakes of oldies or otherwise), and the production is perfunctory and sometimes ill-suited in its modern instrumentation. When it gets to a cappella versions of "Dedicated to the One I Love" and "Angel Baby," and spoken radio IDs for oldies stations, there seems to be some hidden desperation on the part of the compilers to come up with full-length, if not high-value, product. The one remaining selection is the oddest one: "I Don't Understand," dated as a 1973 Wax World release on the track listing, sounds like it might have been recorded a few years later, with its fairly fetching retro lo-fi production and cross of light soul and adult pop vocal styles. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Rosie & The Originals

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 29,086
  • UPC: 029667181426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)