Warne Marsh Star Highs

Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.08
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  CSS 1002
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Criss Cross


  • Buy for $0.991.Switchboard Joe
  • Buy for $0.992.Star Highs
  • Buy for $0.993.Hank's Tune
  • Buy for $0.994.Moose the Mooche
  • Buy for $0.995.Victory Ball
  • Buy for $0.996.Sometimes
  • Buy for $0.997.One For the Band
  • Buy for $0.998.Switchboard Joe - (take 1)
  • Buy for $0.999.Sometimes - (take 1)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Star Highs - (take 2)

Product Description:

Personnel: Warne Marsh (tenor sax); Hank Jones (piano); George Mraz (bass); Mel Lewis (drums).
Personnel: Warne Marsh (tenor saxophone); Hank Jones (piano); Mel Lewis (drums).
Liner Note Author: J. Bernlef.
Recording information: Studio 44, Monster (08/14/1982).
Tenor saxophonist Warne Marsh and pianist Hank Jones had not performed together before they met up in the studio to make what would be the second release for the Criss Cross label. With bassist George Mraz and drummer Mel Lewis completing the quartet, plenty of sparks fly between the two lead soloists. Marsh plays with more fire than one would expect from the cool-toned tenor; the material (four lesser-known tunes by the leader, one by Jones, "Moose the Mooche," and "Victory Ball") is fresher than usual, and the album can be easily recommended to straight-ahead jazz collectors. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Warne Marsh

Product Info:

  • UPC: 8712474100224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item