Kazu Matsui Pioneer

1 rating
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GW7J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Mesa Bluemoon

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.130
"The result is the desired snapshot of 1980s quiet storm and, with 16 original tunes, there is not lack of it..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Love Is Gone
  • Buy for $0.992.Sentimental Slow Song
  • Buy for $0.993.Afternoon Delight
  • Buy for $0.994.I Close My Eyes
  • Buy for $0.995.Love Is Where You Find It
  • Buy for $0.996.See You There
  • Buy for $0.997.Romantic Notion
  • Buy for $0.998.Ariana
  • Buy for $0.999.Castles
  • Buy for $0.9910.Overture
  • Buy for $0.9911.Standing on the Outside
  • Buy for $0.9912.Standing in the Wings
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sail to the Sun
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sunset and the Minstrel
  • Buy for $0.9915.Farther On
  • Buy for $0.9916.The Direction You Take

Product Description:

Kazu Matsui: Kazu Matsui; Darryl Phinnessee (vocals); Greg Walker , Jennifer Warnes, Marva King, Phillip Ingram, Tommy Funderburk, Bill Champlin, Carl Anderson .
Personnel: Kazu Matsui (shakuhachi); Gregory T.S. Walker, Warren Stanyer, Gary Stockdale, Grant Gullickson, Jennifer Warnes, Marva King, Phillip Ingram, Terry Bradford , Tommy Funderburk, Carl Anderson (vocals); Dan Huff, Paul Jackson, Jr. , Robben Ford, Carlos Rios (guitar); Joel Peskin (flute); Rev. Dave Boruff, Eric Marienthal, Brandon Fields (saxophone); Rick Baptist, Charlie Davis (trumpet); Chuck Findley, Doug Wintz, John Liotine, Ralf Richert, Slyde Hyde, Steve Madaio, Larry Klimas (horns); Brian Mann (piano, electric piano, keyboards); Russell Ferrante (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Randy Waldman (piano); Bill Meyers (keyboards, percussion); Derek Nakamoto, John Barnes, Keiko Matsui, Alan Pasqua, Randy Kerber (keyboards); Denny Fongheiser, Ed Greene, Gregg Bissonette, Moyes Lucas, Jeff Porcaro, Carlos Vega, Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Ed Mann , Michael Fisher, Paulinho Da Costa, Steve Forman (percussion).
Liner Note Author: A. Scott Galloway.
Arrangers: Derek Nakamoto; Tetsuji Hayashi; David Dean White; Gary Stockdale; Keiko Matsui; Robben Ford; Randy Kerber; Brian Mann .
Kazu Matsui presents a sterling collection of songs recorded over a five-year period in the '80s at a time when he was perfecting a sound then known as quiet storm. The 16 tracks on Pioneer feature guest appearances by such well-known artists as Paul Jackson, Jr., Eric Marienthal, Robben Ford and his award-winning spouse, pianist Keiko Matsui. The recording also features a variety of vocalists on 15 of the tracks who infuse new life into such songs as "Sunset and the Minstrel" and "The Direction You Take." As a composer of motion picture scores, Matsui gained notoriety after playing the shakuhachi flute on such great soundtracks as Shogun, Willow, and Legends of the Fall, among others. ~ Paula Edelstein

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 852819001484
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)