Burt Bacharach One Amazing Night (Live)

One Amazing Night (Live)
16 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  V839
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Encoded Music


  • Buy for $1.291.One Less Bell to Answer
  • Buy for $1.292.Always Something There
  • Buy for $1.293.God Give Me Strength
  • Buy for $1.294.Baby It's You / A Message To Michael
  • Buy for $1.295.What's New Pussycat
  • Buy for $1.296.Anyone Who Had a Heart
  • Buy for $1.297.Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head
  • Buy for $1.298.Close to You (They Long to Be)
  • Buy for $1.299.Windows Of The World / What The World Needs Now Is Love
  • Buy for $1.2910.Wives and Lovers
  • Buy for $1.2911.Walk On By / Say A Little Prayer / Do You Know The Way To San Jose
  • Buy for $1.2912.Alfie

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Burt Bacharach; Grant Geissman (guitar); Dennis Wilson (reeds); John Thomas (horns); David Joyce, Rob Shrock (keyboards); David Coy (bass); David Crigger (drums); John Pagano, Donna Taylor, Lisa Taylor (background vocals); Sheryl Crow, All Saints, Elvis Costello, Chrissie Hynde, Mike Meyers, Wynonna, Ben Folds Five, Barenaked Ladies, Luther Vandross, David Sanborn, George Duke, Dionne Warwick.
Recorded live at the Hammerstein Ballroom, New York, New York, on April 8, 1998. Includes liner notes by Daniel Durchholz.
The Bacharach revival continued apace with the release of this live soundtrack for the TV special which aired in April of 1998. Contemporary artists such as All Saints, Barenaked Ladies and Wynonna all take creditable stabs at Bacharach classics from the purview of their respective genres. Comic relief is provided by a droll "What's New Pussycat," courtesy of Mike Meyers, whose '60s spy spoof AUSTIN POWERS did much to put Burt and his music back in play. Not to be outdone, power pop pianist/singer Ben Folds brings off a cheeky, over-the-top "Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head."
The most heartfelt performances, however, belong to those old punk rockers, Elvis Costello and Chrissie Hynde, whose identification with Bacharach's transcendent songcraft was ongoing even in their angry salad days. Costello performs his new co-written hit "God Give Me Strength," originally written for the film GRACE OF MY HEART and the powerful catalyst for the wonderful Costello/Bacharach full-length collaboration PAINTED FROM MEMORY. And yes, Dionne Warwick, late of the Psychic Network, returns to the land of the living with a strong three-song medley, still the only singer fully able to claim these difficult but beauteous songs as her own.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Burt Bacharach

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,492
  • UPC: 617701000828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)