John Lewis Orchestra U.S.A.: The Debut Recording [Lone Hill Jazz]

Orchestra U.S.A.: The Debut Recording [Lone Hill
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  K96E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 3, 2004
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain


  • 1.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 1
  • 2.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 2
  • 3.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 3
  • 4.Milesign
  • 5.Milano
  • 6.Natural Affection
  • 7.Donnie's Theme
  • 8.Grand Encounter
  • 9.Star Spangled Banner
  • 10.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 1 [Mono Version][*]
  • 11.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 2 [Mono Version][*]
  • 12.Three Little Feelings, Pt. 3 [Mono Version][*]
  • 13.Milesign [Mono Version][*]
  • 14.Milano [Mono Version][*]
  • 15.Natural Affection [Mono Version][*]
  • 16.Donnie's Theme [Mono Version][*]
  • 17.Grand Encounter [Mono Version][*]
  • 18.Star Spangled Banner [Mono Version][*]

Product Description:

Includes both stereo and mono versions.
Lewis, the director of the Modern Jazz Quartet until his death in 2001, moved away from improvisation into composition when he formed Orchestra U.S.A. for this 1963 recording.
Personnel: Jim Hall (guitar, percussion); Gerald Beal, Nathan Goldstein, Alfred Breuning (violin); Julien Barber, Seleno Clarke (viola); Joe Tekula, Alla Goldenberg (cello); Robert DiDomenica (flute, piccolo, woodwinds); Wally Kane (flute, bassoon, woodwinds); Eric Dolphy (flute, woodwinds, alto saxophone); Leo Wright (flute, woodwinds); Phil Woods (clarinet, woodwinds, alto saxophone); Donald Stewart (clarinet, woodwinds, basset-horn); Donald Ashworth (oboe, woodwinds, baritone saxophone); Ray Shiner (oboe, woodwinds); Louis Mucci, Herb Pomeroy, Nick Travis (trumpet, brass); Robert Swisshelm (French horn, brass); Harvey Phillips (tuba, brass); John Richard Lewis (piano); Richard Davis (double bass); Connie Kay, Michael Colgrass, Gary McFarland, Sticks Evans (percussion).
Liner Note Author: John Flanagan.
Recording information: New York, NY (01/12/1963-02/27/1963).
John Lewis formed Orchestra U.S.A. as a vehicle to potentially explore any composed or improvised music, blending elements of jazz and classical music by recruiting some first-rate players from both worlds. The result is one of the more successful third stream recordings. There are two string quartets, plus woodwinds, brass, and a rhythm section present. Collaborating with Gunther Schuller, who conducted the group and did some of the orchestrations, Lewis expanded his work "Three Little Feelings" from its original chart for brass, featuring outstanding solos by alto saxophonist Phil Woods and guitarist Jim Hall. Lewis includes two pieces he had written for William Inge's play Natural Affection; Dolphy's fireworks on "Donnie's Theme" contrast with the easygoing "Natural Affection," which features the leader's piano and has a sudden dramatic finale. Gary McFarland contributed both "Milesign" and "Grand Encounter"; the former composition is a driving bop chart with a typically angular alto sax solo by Dolphy, while the latter piece is quirky and has a playful solo by Lewis. Schuller's rather stiff arrangement of "The Star Spangled Banner" serves as a odd but brief coda to close the record. Although there were additional records by Orchestra U.S.A., none of them match the heights of this initial effort. [Originally issued as a Colpix LP and long unavailable, this highly recommended album finally appeared as a Lone Hill Jazz CD in 2004, adding the mono takes for each selection as bonus tracks.] ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Lewis

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019581179
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)