Toots & The Maytals Time Tough: The Anthology (2-CD)

Time Tough: The Anthology (2-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  V82F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Island

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 6/28-7/5/96, pp.106-107
"Singer Toots Hibbert has spent four decades proving that the U.S. hasn't cornered the market on lusty, lion-chested soulmen. His explosive signature songs...are as mellow as hand grenades." - Rating: A-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Six And Seven Books Of Moses
  • Buy for $0.992.Broadway Jungle
  • Buy for $0.993.It's You
  • Buy for $0.994.Never You Change
  • Buy for $0.995.John & James
  • Buy for $1.296.54-46, That's My Number
  • Buy for $0.997.Do The Reggay
  • Buy for $0.998.Desmond Dekker Came First - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Sweet & Dandy
  • Buy for $0.9910.Monkey Man
  • Buy for $0.9911.Peeping Tom
  • Buy for $0.9912.One Eyed Enos
  • Buy for $0.9913.She's My Scorcher
  • Buy for $1.2914.Pressure Drop
  • Buy for $0.9915.Pomp & Pride
  • Buy for $1.2916.Funky Kingston
  • Buy for $0.9917.Take Me Home, Country Roads
  • Buy for $0.9918.Time Tough
  • Buy for $0.9919.In The Dark
  • Buy for $0.9920.Reggae Got Soul
  • Buy for $0.9921.Rastaman
  • Buy for $0.9922.Living In The Ghetto
  • Buy for $0.9923.Hallelujah - (live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Get Up, Stand Up
  • Buy for $0.992.My Love Is So Strong
  • Buy for $0.993.Chatty, Chatty
  • Buy for $0.994.Gee Whiz
  • Buy for $0.995.Just Like That
  • Buy for $0.996.Careless Ethiopians
  • Buy for $0.997.Never Get Weary
  • Buy for $0.998.Spend The Weekend
  • Buy for $0.999.Beautiful Woman
  • Buy for $0.9910.Bam, Bam
  • Buy for $0.9911.Spiritual Healing
  • Buy for $0.9912.B For Butter - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Peace, Perfect Peace
  • Buy for $0.9914.You Know - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Dreams To Remember, (I've Got)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Precious, Precious
  • Buy for $0.9917.Hard To Handle
  • Buy for $0.9918.Freedom Train

Product Description:

Toots & The Maytals: Toots Hibbert (vocals, guitar, harmonica, clavinet); Raleigh Gordon, Jerry Mathias (background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Carl Harvey, Teenie Hodges, Hux Brown, Lynn Taitt, Rad Bryan (guitar); Roland Alphonso (saxophone); Bobby Ellis (trumpet); Rico Rodriguez (trombone); Ansell Collins, Gladstone Anderson (piano, keyboards); Steve Winwood (organ); Winston Wright (organ, keyboards); Wally Badarou (keyboards, synthesizer); Robbie Shakespear, Lloyd Parkes, Jackie Jackson (bass); Sly Dunbar, Paul Douglas (drums).
Producers Include: Joe Boyd, Jim Dickinson, Chris Blackwell, Sly Dunbar.
Engineers include: Sylvan Morris, John Hampton, Steven Stanley.
Recorded between 1963 and 1988. Includes liner notes by Vivien Goldman.
Digitally remastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio (Polygram Studios).
Personnel: Toots Hibbert (vocals); Eddie Hinton, Ernest Ranglin, Rad Bryan, Junior Kerr, Lyn Taitt, Mabon "Teenie" Hodges, Mikey Chung, Barry Reynolds, Hux Brown, Carl Harvey (guitar); Chicago Steve (harmonica); Roland Alphonso (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jim Spake (saxophone); Ray Allen, Dudu Pukwana, Lester Sterling, Andrew Love (alto saxophone); George Lee, Tommy McCook (tenor saxophone); Gary Topper (baritone saxophone); Joe Mulherin, Johnny "Dizzy" Moore, Baba Brooks, Dick Cuthell, Eddie Quansah, Bobby Ellis (trumpet); Don Drummond, Jerome Francisque, Rico Rodriguez (trombone); Gladstone Anderson, Harold Butler, Ansel Collins (piano, keyboards); Jackie Mittoo, Theophilus Beckford (piano); Winston Wright (organ, keyboards); Emmanuel Rentzos, Sonny Binns, Pablove Black, Steve Winwood (organ); Wally Badarou (keyboards, synthesizer); Franklyn Waul (keyboards); Arkland "Drumbago" Parks, Lloyd Knibbs, Sly Dunbar, Paul Douglas (drums); Rebop, Tony Uter, Larry McDonald, Denzel Laing, Brother James, Bruce Rowland (percussion); ZabĀ£, Debra Hall, Raleigh Gordon, Nathaniel "Jerry" Matthias (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Chris Blackwell; Godwin Logie; John Burns ; Karl Pitterson; Keith Harwood; Norman Mighell; Steven Stanley ; Toots Hibbert.
Unknown Contributor Role: Scully.
Arranger: Toots Hibbert.
Toots Hibbert has consistently been one of the most popular and influential reggae performers of all time. Hibbert was a favorite of both Bob Marley and Peter Tosh, as well as an influence of '90s performers like Shabba Ranks, not to mention British rockers Pete Townsend and Robert Palmer. This superb compilation spans his entire career, from the uplifting mid-'60s ska of "Never You Change" to the gospel-inflected reggae classic "Pressure Drop" to his '80s tributes to the American soul/R&B sound, covering Otis Redding's "Hard to Handle."
Hibbert's deep, soulful voice, with its slightly ragged delivery, conveys devotion of both the secular and the sacred kind, weaving tales of financial poverty and emotional richness with the fervency of James Brown, Rufus Thomas, and Marvin Gaye. He adapts such unlikely tunes as John Denver's "Take Me Home, Country Roads" to the Jamaican experience as effortlessly as he channels Gaye's influence with the original "Spiritual Healing." This wonderfully annotated two-CD set contains some of the best roots-reggae ever recorded.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Toots & The Maytals

Product Info

  • UPC: 731452421920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)